We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Nevada small town restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Slanted Porch

The Slanted Porch
Ranked #2 of 54 Restaurants in Fallon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb Nevada small town restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a great little gem in Fallon, NV. I have had their food before at a catered event, and it was just fantastic. They are very big on using local ingredients, and supporting other local business. Their food combinations are terrifc and very creative. I recently returned to have a drink with my husband, and we watched entree after entree come out of the kitchen, and they all looked fabulous. Our meal was just as terrific. Great staff too - friendly, fun and seem to enjoy each other.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RenoTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lenzerheide, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great locals place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have has many good meals here. Can be a bit crowded at lunch. Specialties at lunch are a variety of really good sandwiches. Has bar service available. People come here to relax, have good food, and see friends. Dinners have been good except for one night I got a tough steak. Since then I heard they changed beef suppliers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nvpete01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, Nj
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Great Time!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I arrived during Happy Hour on a VERY hot day and sat at the bar. We were greeted by some of the nicest employees we've come across. Good beers at great prices and a salad with a delicious, homemade blue cheese dressing made for a nice way to 'chill out'. The people we met at the bar were so very nice to talk with, too. By the time we left, the dining room was practically full, and it was early. It seemed to be quite popular.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nono52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Small town Nevada has not been where I have expected to find source-conscious or healthy, well-prepared food in a bistro environment with excellent service, but the Slanted Porch offers it all. Host to a Farmers' Market in its parking lot, the Slanted Porch offers on its menu what they can in the way of locally grown produce, so I opted for the spinach salad with locally grown spinach. It was wonderful! The basalmic vinegrette was perfectly seasoned and the waitress gladly made adjustments to my order to meet my lactose and pork free diet. The salad was a generous enough portion to serve me well as lunch and priced under $10. Some reviewers have complained about the prices and portions. We are retirees who travel frugally, but we value good quality, locally sourced foods when available and have regretfully observed that Americans are used to paying less for food and more for medical bills than the rest of the developed nations. That out in the open, we prize hidden treasures like the Slanted Porch (found through a search for "healthy food in Fallon NV") and recommend it whether your desire is a healthier menu or a tastier one. It's moderately priced and worth every penny.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaigirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great lunch. Fresh and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We went with family for lunch when passing through the area. Four of us all ordered different sandwiches and all were great! Loved the Dutch Crunch bread. The little brownies on the plate was a great touch. Service slowed a bit when the place got a little busier, but staff were friendly (noticed a few people getting their orders before us even though they ordered after us.) I wish we would've been able to try dinner! Pleasant atmosphere. We'd definitely go back given the opportunity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TessiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Slanted Porch also viewed

 

Been to The Slanted Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing