We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priced well and is right on the main street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Priced well and is right on the main street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are passing through Ely, Nevada it is a great spot to either spend a night while passing through or spend a few days and check out the local sites. They have rooms that are for pets and then they have rooms that are not for pets, if you have allergies. We got a room that allowed dogs and it had tile floor which made you feel like the room was cleaner considering everyone's dog isn't always well mannered. There is a restaurant on site and we ate breakfast there all four mornings. It is a great non-chain hotel with a small casino.

Room Tip: If you have an animal ask for a pet friendly room. If you don't have a pet you might want to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    137
    30
    6
    7
See reviews for
92
183
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

we were travelling down from jackpot nevada via the bonneville salt flats to Las Vegas and our flight home and stayed for one night to break the trip. clean hotel, well appointed, indoor pool, and the most interesting themes, antiques and curios i have ever seen in a small hotel. staff are lovely, food is good and the beds are very comfortable. owner seems to have a thing about maralyn monroe (then again - don't most of us men!). she appears pretty much everywhere not that i am complaining!

the town has enough to keep you busy for at least three days so we intend to book longer next time we come.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sithlonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia City, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is pet friendly to the point of having separate rooms that are set up for people traveling with pets, there are pet treats waiting when you come into the room and a dog bed as well as pet pictures on the walls. What a great place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevada117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Prospector has clean room, friendly staff, Military discount and a indoor pool and hot tub, easy to find location just as you come in to town, Café is quite and the food is reasonably priced and good quality

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks. Bc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Prospector Hotel & Casino at the beginning of April 2013 on the way home from Arizona. The room cost us $73 including all taxes which was a decent rate for what we got. It was just fine, with 2 queen beds, a nice big flat screen TV, small fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. They gave us 2 complimentary margaritas and we had them in the smokey bar. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but it was a short distance to other places for dinner. There is a small casino the very obviously allows smoking so we avoided that like the plague.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LandsSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montour
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed the night after a long leg of our trip toward home. Great rooms. Clean and seem to be updated. The restaurant had a lobster and steak special for $20.00. It was great right down to the fresh green beans. They had a good selection of drinks including Sam Adams. Later we went to the spa to relax and found it to be clean and not busy. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliv er, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Checked into this hotel last week (Sunday night - April 21) and received prompt and courteous service. Though the facility is older than some and being a smaller Nevada Casino which allows smoking it wasn't unbearable. Included in check-in was a $3.00 slot machine voucher and two free margarita's in the lobby bar. The room itself was much better than expected for the price paid (@$75.00 Cdn taxes in). Non-smoking room was a good size, spotless, up to date with a very comfortable bed, fridge and microwave. Though breakfast was not included we did have supper at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed an all-you-can-eat pot roast supper for under $12.00 each. The meal was excellent, plentiful and inexpensive. They offer different nightly specials. Of the hotels to stay at the Prospector is not the newest though prpobably the best. We had stayed at the Ramada in 2010 and it was pricier though included breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firehorse112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ely
0.9 mi away
Ramada Ely
Ramada Ely
#4 of 15 in Ely
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#5 of 15 in Ely
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
0.9 mi away
Bristlecone Motel
Bristlecone Motel
#3 of 15 in Ely
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rustic Inn Motel
Rustic Inn Motel
#7 of 15 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall

Property: Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
Address: 1501 E Aultman St, Ely, NV 89301-2599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prospector Hotel & Gambling Hall is a beautifully appointed Hotel and Casino including an onsite Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge. The property is newly remolded with 5 Star Amenities throughout, therefore, we are positive you will enjoy your stay with us. The Hotel is Pet Friendly so we love all pets and YES, we Love You too! In addition, being less than a mile away, we are the closest Hotel to the famous Train Station, Airport & Hospital. Safe Travels and See You Soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospector Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing