We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a winner! !”
Review of Twin Wok

Twin Wok
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
South Lake Tahoe
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely a winner! !”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Don't let the decor fool you, the food is fantastic and the service is fast and friendly. We were just on a coast to coast drive and it was the best meal of the trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisakuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    54
    31
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cheap food”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just a simple meal: egg flower soup and combo fired rice. Very tasty and cheap. What else can one say?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
201 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Well cooked Chinese food”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We ate there when staying in Ely and found that the service was excellent and the food nicely done. The portions are huge, so be sure to share

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Townhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Ely”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Recently went through Ely and had dinner at the Twin Wok. Since I was flying solo, I didn't order any of the combinations (for two) or numerous dishes. Instead, had the Lo Mein. It was delicious, hot and fresh and well made. The service was the standout. This seems to be a family-run restaurant with Mom at the cash register, Dad in the kitchen (which probably has two woks) and the daughters out front serving. There seemed to be some local "Prom" diners there the evening I was there confirming that this is one of Ely's "go-to" places. The atmosphere is very informal and conducive to family dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rulysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ely is a small town and we stayed for several nights in town. We tried this restaurant based on other reviews we read from travelers. Food was okay but they add something to their food that kept me awake all night. We asked that MSG not be used so I don't know what the additive was, but it kept me awake all night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichmondTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Twin Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing