We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bargain for above standard accomodations”
Review of Magnuson Hotel Ely

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Ely
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed two nights at the Main hotel. After a noisy substandard AAA hotel in Elko- I was very plesantly surprised to see such a compact property offer excellent ( I would even venture above average) accomodations at one of the most reasonable rates in Ely . The nationally rated Ely hotels had nothing over the Hotel Main.

Tough our first room's bed was a little soft, there was plenty of room for our pets ( very pet friendly with a park & other areas nearby for walking dogs)- the room was spotless and fresh smelling with the quality of furniture, bed linens, and decor you would expect from nationally rated hotel. It also offered a large TV, quiet AC/heater, and free high speed internet ( they will loan you a cord if you forgot your own)-. The front desk was friendly and accomodating. Continental breakfast is also free! On our return stay, we had another large room with a very comfortable king bed. I suggest the corner rooms if they are available.

I think the Main model is one of Ely's best kept secrets and a great bargain for all you get. They clearly care about their customers and the reputation of their facility. It appears everything has been upgraded with great care. We will always use the Main motel over any other in town ( including those rated AAA, etc.- this motel was every bit as nice but far less expensive) when visiting Ely.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dittydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Ely
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2005

This property is small and is old by today's standards BUT it is clean and the three rooms I saw were all like mine. My room was freshly made up and contained all the amenities one expects in todays newer motels. There was an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffeee maker and the items necessary to enjoy it. The room contained a queen bed flanked by a night stand on each side containing a light, radio clock alarm, desk and chair, along with a large remote control T.V. ensconsed in an amoire. A rolling stuffed chair completed the arrangement. There were two baggage racks and room for hanging garments. The property must have recently updated the room interiors. The bath had new tub surround and faucets. The water pressure was very good. The sink was new as was the countertop. The air conditioner was QUIET and efficient. The biggest drawback is traffic noise which is minimal overnight, but was irritating the first night. The second night we used the fan on the A.C. which created enough white noise to overcome the traffic. Across the street is a convenience store and a very nice restaurant for breakfast. Personally, I would return to this location if I get back to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank toomacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2005

This is a very small property, but the rooms are nice. I noticed that beds were a bit shorter than standard, so taller people could have problems with their legs sticking out. The lady at the front desk was friendly and very nice, our room was waiting for us. We got a very good rate of about 55$.

8  Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredyOfUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank タコハチ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ely
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#5 of 15 in Ely
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
0.7 mi away
Ramada Ely
Ramada Ely
#4 of 15 in Ely
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Pine Motel
White Pine Motel
#14 of 15 in Ely
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Ely

Address: 1101 Aultman St, Ely, NV 89301-1642 (Formerly Main Motel)
Location: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: $56 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Ely 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing