We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay motel in downtown Ely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Aztec, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Okay motel in downtown Ely”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

They've taken a 1950s type motel and have upgraded it with the latest accessories.

I would have loved to give it a better rating; but there were a handful of problems:
- One of the chairs was broken (anyone sitting in it would have likely fallen over).
- The pull tab for the bathtub faucet was missing.
- The wireless internet connection was extremely poor in our room (one rooms farthest from the lobby.
- The bed was a bit too soft for our tastes (I recognize this as a personal preference).
- The continental breakfast was minimal - the bagel I picked up had mold on it.
- The road noise was bothersome.

The clerks were friendly. The room was clean. And it was just a couple of blocks from the downtown area and across the street from a nice park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    55
    43
    21
    6
See reviews for
26
70
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Front desk couple were very friendly and helpful. They must have been having plumbing problems becaue both mornings we had cold showers. Otherwise the rooms were clean well decored and the staff nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Motel was clean and pleasant, decent bed, reasonable pillows unlike many places. One fatal flaw however, we ran out of hot water. I had a lukewarm shower, my wife was about to a few minutes later and the water was cold. Maybe not ice cold, but cold, not warm let alone hot. Had breakfast in the office and I spoke with the woman there who had been on the night before and I would guess is owner/manager. She seemed somewhat upset that someone(?) hadn't fixed it, but unconcerned about us not having shower water, just the hassle for her of having to get something else fixed. Not the attitude I like to see. Her biggest statement was something along the lines of "my husband's going to have words with him" with no apologies to us. It would have been fine if not for this and her attitude and unconcern for the customers. Never saw a smile either at check in or at breakfast time either, but that's not really an issue, just an observation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ely hotels

Oaxaca
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Friendly management, helped us pick a nice, non-smoking restaurant for dinner, clean and comfortable room, big variety in the breakfast. Nice to be able to walk out the front door, down the main street to the historic casino.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oaxacawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

What can I say. I had a really good stay. The best nights sleep of my trip. Very friendly and helpful staff. It's on my good list to stay there again.

The park Vue Motel is on the main road through Ely NV, Route 50 'Americas lonliest Highway'. It's typical American 'out of the way' rustic look hides the the size, quality and cleanliness of it's rooms. The helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff and the choice and layout of the breakfast.

My room was large and clean with a very comfortable bed. All the other features were as expected. Tables, chairs fridge, microwave, bathroom etc. Television reception wasn't very good. This may be the distribution in the Motel or that being fed to the Motel from the supplier. For me not a show stopper but might be for other guests.

There is a computer with printer available for use by guests in the foyee. As-well-as wireless internet access. I was informed that some visiters using Ipads have difficulty accessing the wireless modem router from their rooms. I suspect this is because there is no outside antenna. Just the one on the modem router which is next to the printer in the foyee. As more people expect wireless internet access. This should be investigated. It will be a few years until 4G mobile services will be the mode of choice.

Breakfast is the usual American buffet and was very well presented. The eating area is small so pick your timing accordinly in the busy seasons. Nice to sit there and watch the world go by. Or take the breakfast to your room.

The Motel is in a nice area with a park and pond opposite. Where people feed the ducks and the geese. It is a short walking distance to resturants and a casino.

I had a discounted walk in price. But I know I would have obtained a better price if I had booked earlier via the internet. But then on road trips some times you don't know where you will end up. That's the fun of it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 365traveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This motel is a “trip back to the fifties.” Park in front of your room but when the motel is full, parking is marginal and not necessarily in front of your room. The rooms are large, comfortable and very clean. The Internet is weak but can be received in the office. Certain locations in the motel are better than others. The front deck person was not overly friendly and acted as though she was doing you a favor by being there to take your money. When we asked for a recommendation of dinner she sent us to a real dive of a restaurant two blocks away. Although this was a little annoying, it has nothing to do with the rooms, which is why you stay in a motel. If you are looking for a no frills motel for a good night’s sleep this motel will do you fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ely
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#4 of 15 in Ely
369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Ely
Ramada Ely
#5 of 15 in Ely
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
0.2 mi away
White Pine Motel
White Pine Motel
#14 of 15 in Ely
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Motel
Rustic Inn Motel
#6 of 15 in Ely
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Park Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Park Vue

Property: Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
Address: 930 Aultman St, Ely, NV 89301-1637 (Formerly Best Western Park Vue Motel)
Location: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Park Vue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Park Vue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ely
Ely Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing