We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”
Review of Bristlecone Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bristlecone Motel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Garden Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We needed to stay overnight in Ely and after searching on TripAdvisor we settled on this property. I agree with a previous review that this is a great mom and pop establishment. We stayed in the room with 3 queens, which was perfect for our travel group. We found it to be very clean, even in the nooks and cranies where most properties don't bother because they think you won't look (I do!). Clean carpet, bathroom, bedding; everything was pristine! Loved the personal touch of the soft, fluffy towels; not your typical towels in a motel, which in my opinion puts the Bristlecone a step ahead of everyone else. We would plan to stay here again if traveling through Ely! Also, the lady at the front desk was great with helping us choose a restaurant for dinner. We ended up at Evah's which is across the street. Great italian food and friendly service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ross376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    141
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
52
127
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here on our drive to Las Vegas. The area was beautiful, but cold and snowy. This motel is exactly as described, homey, comfortable and clean. Had a frig and coffeemaker and the best shower. I would definitely stay here again when driving thru beautiful Nevada.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasure to find this room. Mom & pop Drive-up, 2-story operation; park in front of room for ease of unload. Manager showed us a darling 2-bed room that was warm, clean, modern, and had fantastic beds with thick, wonderful pillows. Even the shower has good water pressure. Small fridge and Coffee in room but no micro. Comfortable and quiet electric heat; 9 degrees outside het warm in room. Rooms are off the main road and are very quiet. Casino across the street and not in motel. All finishes looked new.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zazetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent, clean & reasonable overnight stop en route from south to north. Quiet. Can park right outside door (we always choose ground level); has fridge, coffee-maker in room. Will stay here again on our way back & forth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zarafa336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

In a seven week road trip in south western USA this was, by far, the worst place that we stayed. Our room was very small, dowdy and getting on towards shabby. The towels were thin and skimpy (and mainly green!). The motel is located right on a busy crossroads and our room was right next to the road. We could both hear and feel the traffic well in to the night and from very early the next morning. There was also a fair amount of noise from the adjacent room and the room above is; not the fault of the motel management, of course, but it didn’t improve our stay. No breakfast is provided so, although the motel is quite cheap, we do not think it offers value for money. Also this is the only occasion in seven weeks where we met with a brusque response (bordering on rudeness) when we asked a perfectly polite and reasonable question at the reception. That says a lot about the general courtesy and friendliness of Americans! But it also says a good deal about Bristlecone Motel. We think there are much better accommodation options in Ely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilFiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesreeRamirez, Manager at Bristlecone Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I am sorry you had that experience staying with us. The noise from the street does tend to be a little distracting, beings we are located on highway 50. I am also sorry you didnt like the towels, they are one of our most complemented items. They are from the JC Penneys Home Collection and not the average motel towel. Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Even though we were assigned what was probably the least-desirable room in the motel (ground floor on the highway,) we slept very well. The bed was excellent, room very clean, towels big and fluffy, and internet worked well. The bathroom is miniscule, but sufficient. The location is convenient to stores, restaurants and even a casino.

Room Tip: A second floor room away from the highway would be preferable, though we had no complaints about our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LNaydene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesreeRamirez, Manager at Bristlecone Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the review.. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and took the time to give your feedback. We hope you stay with us again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This motel has a friendly staff, rooms that are as clean as they smell and the parking is excellent. It's close to the grocery store and post office, too. The internet works great. It even has a table with chairs to use as a mini office. I slept good and woke up feeling great. It's a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Triston M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.9 mi away
Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ely
0.0 mi away
Ramada Ely
Ramada Ely
#4 of 15 in Ely
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#5 of 15 in Ely
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
0.5 mi away
Rustic Inn Motel
Rustic Inn Motel
#6 of 15 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristlecone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristlecone Motel

Property: Bristlecone Motel
Address: 700 Avenue I, Ely, NV 89301-2623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristlecone Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, home away from home atmosphere. The only motel in Ely with patio seating. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and courteous service to our customers. Great beds and linens. The motel is within walking distance of three restaurants. Free wi-fi and pets ok. In-room coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bristlecone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristlecone Motel Ely
Bristlecone Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing