We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, very comfortable, friendly & affordable. We would stay again.”
Review of Bristlecone Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bristlecone Motel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasure to find this room. Mom & pop Drive-up, 2-story operation; park in front of room for ease of unload. Manager showed us a darling 2-bed room that was warm, clean, modern, and had fantastic beds with thick, wonderful pillows. Even the shower has good water pressure. Small fridge and Coffee in room but no micro. Comfortable and quiet electric heat; 9 degrees outside het warm in room. Rooms are off the main road and are very quiet. Casino across the street and not in motel. All finishes looked new.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zazetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 300 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent, clean & reasonable overnight stop en route from south to north. Quiet. Can park right outside door (we always choose ground level); has fridge, coffee-maker in room. Will stay here again on our way back & forth.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zarafa336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

In a seven week road trip in south western USA this was, by far, the worst place that we stayed. Our room was very small, dowdy and getting on towards shabby. The towels were thin and skimpy (and mainly green!). The motel is located right on a busy crossroads and our room was right next to the road. We could both hear and feel the traffic well in to the night and from very early the next morning. There was also a fair amount of noise from the adjacent room and the room above is; not the fault of the motel management, of course, but it didn’t improve our stay. No breakfast is provided so, although the motel is quite cheap, we do not think it offers value for money. Also this is the only occasion in seven weeks where we met with a brusque response (bordering on rudeness) when we asked a perfectly polite and reasonable question at the reception. That says a lot about the general courtesy and friendliness of Americans! But it also says a good deal about Bristlecone Motel. We think there are much better accommodation options in Ely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilFiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesreeRamirez, Manager at Bristlecone Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

I am sorry you had that experience staying with us. The noise from the street does tend to be a little distracting, beings we are located on highway 50. I am also sorry you didnt like the towels, they are one of our most complemented items. They are from the JC Penneys Home Collection and not the average motel towel. Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Even though we were assigned what was probably the least-desirable room in the motel (ground floor on the highway,) we slept very well. The bed was excellent, room very clean, towels big and fluffy, and internet worked well. The bathroom is miniscule, but sufficient. The location is convenient to stores, restaurants and even a casino.

Room Tip: A second floor room away from the highway would be preferable, though we had no complaints about our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LNaydene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesreeRamirez, Manager at Bristlecone Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for the review.. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and took the time to give your feedback. We hope you stay with us again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This motel has a friendly staff, rooms that are as clean as they smell and the parking is excellent. It's close to the grocery store and post office, too. The internet works great. It even has a table with chairs to use as a mini office. I slept good and woke up feeling great. It's a nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Triston M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Rooms were clean. Smelled clean! Linens were home-like. Cable channels on TV and actual working Internet. Loved it.
The bathroom could have been a little newer but it didn't spoil the stay.
Coffe mug in room, air-conditioning, free parking wih plenty of places.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank defene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I just got home and decided to rate the Bristlecone because of the staff and the facility itself. The girl at the front desk made us feel welcome. She found our reservation and checked us in quickly. We have stayed here a few times before in rooms on the ground floor but went with the second floor this time because of the big paned doors that go to the balcony. The view is beautiful! The rooms are spacious, more like suites but not at the price many other motels would charge for the same. I also like the parking lot. It accommodates big trucks as well as trucks and trailers. I found the room to be very pretty, very clean, and comfortable. I like the long hot shower that never got cold and lack of noise which sometimes comes from other rooms or the outside when we stay at the other motels. I will be staying here again!

Room Tip: The upper rooms have an exterior balcony with table and chairs every so often so we can enjoy the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#5 of 15 in Ely
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ely
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramada Ely
Ramada Ely
#4 of 15 in Ely
406 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
0.5 mi away
Rustic Inn Motel
Rustic Inn Motel
#6 of 15 in Ely
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristlecone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristlecone Motel

Address: 700 Avenue I, Ely, NV 89301-2623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: $84 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristlecone Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, home away from home atmosphere. The only motel in Ely with patio seating. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and courteous service to our customers. Great beds and linens. The motel is within walking distance of three restaurants. Free wi-fi and pets ok. In-room coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bristlecone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristlecone Motel Ely
Bristlecone Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing