We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs!”
Review of Bristlecone Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bristlecone Motel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bed bugs!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving 2011 upstairs in the room with 3 beds. When we woke up in the morning to go hunting there were bed bugs everywhere. When we told the front desk they offered to move us to the room next door! So we requested to checkout and they didn't even offer us a discounted rate for our inconvenience. We stayed at the Prospector for remainder of our trip and slept in complete comfort.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinewood6, Manager at Bristlecone Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I am very sorry that you had that experience staying with us. From the media we know there is no motel immune to bedbugs. The issue was taken care of immediately and haven't had any further issues. I did however refund the full amount of your stay. I also tried to phone you several times with the number you have listed with us to speak with you personally. Once again I apologize and would like to offer you a free night stay to try us again. We take extreme pride in the cleanliness of our motel and would like the chance to show you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    144
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
54
132
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here once before six years ago while motorcycling highway 50 and had a great experience. Since then we've generally upgraded our lodging choices and tried to get into the new LaQuinta in town. It was sold out, so we returned to the Bristlecone. Although our receptionist was not particularly friendly, she gave us the room type we requested. It was clean and everything (fridge, TV, microwave, coffeemaker, hairdryer) worked just fine -- except the wifi kept dropping from our iPhone, but not from our laptop. The shower pressure was decent and the towels were fluffy. The best part was how well we slept that night. The bed was just the right amount of firm, the sheets were soft like grandma's house and the pillows were perfectly sized. Even though we were pretty close to busy route 50, earplugs drowned out the truck noise. Note: The A/C requires standing on a chair to adjust, but it provided ample cool air all night. All in all, a great deal for $75-ish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Substrata23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Room was very clean. Parking right in front, we were able to see the car from the window. Quilts on the beds and soft towels. Tub was good size and hot water worked well. Fridge didn't work. Ice machine and microwave are in the office. Large size tv. Had a problem with the lights - a circuit breaker went out. The office was friendly and fixed it as quickly as they could. Friendly and affordable, but bring your own pillow. Wasn't thrilled with theirs. The mattress felt hard to me but my husband thought it was fine.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs, so no problem with the noise, other than people walking by now and then, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were lucky to get a room in Ely. The town was pretty well booked. This town is 60 miles away from any other towns. The room was surprising clean, neat, quiet and comfortable. If you're planning on staying in Ely you should make plans/reservations before you get there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BettyBoop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Picked the Bristlecone randomly off a list of motels in Ely. Very happy with the room- it was clean and had some charm to it. Reasonable price. Great place to stop over on the way east or west.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squintykoreantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Decent place for a stopover when you don't quite make it to Las Vegas and you don't feel like driving any more.
No breakfast but the room was clean, quiet and suited our needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontario88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was a wonderful find for us, an older place, but very well cared for and the room was Huge. The bed was comfortable and the bath towels were so big and soft, not the generic hotel type. It was very clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda_Lang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.9 mi away
Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ely
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#4 of 15 in Ely
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramada Ely
Ramada Ely
#5 of 15 in Ely
364 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
0.7 mi away
White Pine Motel
White Pine Motel
#15 of 15 in Ely
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristlecone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristlecone Motel

Property: Bristlecone Motel
Address: 700 Avenue I, Ely, NV 89301-2623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristlecone Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, home away from home atmosphere. The only motel in Ely with patio seating. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and courteous service to our customers. Great beds and linens. The motel is within walking distance of three restaurants. Free wi-fi and pets ok. In-room coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bristlecone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristlecone Motel Ely
Bristlecone Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing