We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be tempted!”
Review of Great Basin Inn

Great Basin Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Basin Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Ely B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed on Monday, September 9, 2013 and paid less than $50. When I opened the door the smell of urine was extremely strong. It dissipated after running the air while I went out to eat. Bathroom looked to be remodeled but the bedroom was outdated, worn, and the TV was a boat anchor. Channels were limited and I could not view Monday Night Football as ESPN was not available. TV remote did not work even after putting in new batteries. Bedding was clean but the carpet was horrible and the interior of the door was filthy. It seemed okay at first because almost all the rooms were rented, but I found that most guests were construction workers from out of state and were there because it was one of the cheapest places in town. Don't be tempted, go somewhere else it will be worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZTry4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 16 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Beds were comfortable. The room was a little small and the air conditioner cycled on and off, but we just needed a place to stay for one night and it fit the bill. A mom-and-pop place that had the necessities, although advertised wifi was not available. A male family member (Asian, impossible to tell age, but female manager called him 'Baby') was extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and sharp - recommended places to eat, gave clear directions, and offered further assistance at every encounter.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter, and parking is less congested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We decided to stay over in Ely for one night. Checked into this hotel - looked like typical Mom & Pop business. Checked in the room after fighting to get key to open door. It looked clean at a first glance. I asked for extra pillows and the owner 'gave' me her own pillows. I put it on the bed and noticed black fuzzy hair on the linen and pillow! Ewwww .. if you were the owner and one of the guests asked for extra pillows DON'T give your dog's pillows to them! I had extra hair in the towels as well ... the shower only knows hot and cold - nothing in between! Luckily it was only for one night .. wasn't worth the money paid!!

Room Tip: To ask to have a look at it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Cheap, quiet, and clean with comfortable bed. The property itself is pretty run down and in dire need of some TLC. Passable for a one night stand but not as an end destination. Plenty of motels/hotels in the area to choose from but didn't price other properties.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frank31238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

It's not the prettiest motel on the main drag through Ely but it is clean and quiet and it had a very comfortable bed. I did not get the low price mentioned in other people's reviews here even though I stayed one night in mid week.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Old? Yes. Cheap? Yes. Quiet? You bet. I am working in Ely and when I first got there back in November, I stayed at the motel 6. That place was overpriced and small. The Great Basin Inn has huge rooms, microwaves and turnover service every single day! I haven't tried the other motels and I won't because this place is so accomadating. I have heard about other motels around there where people start missing their money and belongings. I had nothing but a great experience for 2 months and when I get back to Ely tonight, there is only one place I'm gonna go, Great Basin Inn of course!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I passed up the recommended historic hotel because it was clearly a place more for gambling, drinking, and all-night biker parties than a good night's sleep. Though on the main highway, this place was far enough back to offer peace and quiet, plus the room was only $36. It turned out to be a big, well renovated space with microwave, fridge, desk, wifi that actually worked, and a clean roomy, modern bathroom with a tub. The bed was a little soft but I'm sure I slept better here than I would have at any of the motel-casinos lining Ely's main street, and for a one-night stopover en route the price can't be beat. A good budget choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dberthold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Ely
Ramada Ely
#4 of 15 in Ely
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ely
0.8 mi away
Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#5 of 15 in Ely
385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
0.2 mi away
Bristlecone Motel
Bristlecone Motel
#3 of 15 in Ely
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Basin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Basin Inn

Address: 701 E Aultman St, Ely, NV 89301-2502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range: $56 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Basin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Great Basin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing