We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased With the Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Happy Garden

Happy Garden
Ranked #11 of 24 Restaurants in Ely
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Pleased With the Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Chinese food in small towns is usually not very good. I was pleasantly surprised with the food at Happy Garden. A friend and I visited on a Sunday night. The place was full. The take out business was also booming, which made the service a bit slow. No problem as the Tsingtao beers were cold and tasted great. Our food arrived well into the second beer each. We had sizzling rice soup which was tasty. We also had Hunan Pork which was surprisingly good. (Not usually on the menu at Chinese/American restaurants). My friend had a chicken dish that was also good.
If it wasn't our last night in Ely, we would have gone back again.
I will go back on my next visit to Ely.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petest50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beer was the Highlight”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Well, after reading lots of favorable reviews of the Happy Garden, and given our daughter's love of Chinese food, we stopped here for lunch while passing through Ely. The two chicken dishes we ordered - Chicken and Brocolli and Teriyaki Chicken - were both marginal - bland and salty. The egg drop soup that accompanied the lunch was inelible, though the Spring Roll was OK. The Mongolian Beef that my spouse ordered was pretty good. And the Tsinghua beer was great, but not enough to get me to go back. And since I live 900 miles away, it shouldn't be an issue.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

next to the jailhouse casino very clean and reasonable menu staff friendly wide variety of chinese dishes

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank wildadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“simple pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

had luch here one day simple chinese american food but fresh not frozen reheat style as in most chinese places, very good and and flavorfull, very quiet and freindly service

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc,utah
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

we just returned from happy garden and left 3/4 of our plate full of uneaten food. My husband ordered beef and broccoli that was sooo salty and the beef tasted ugh! I ordered shrimp in garlic sauce and the sauce was blah, no garlic. We had egg drop soup that had so much cornstarch in it that the broth was like a gel. I wouldn't eat there again. Try Twin Wok. They played Andy Williams and the Sound of Music.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank getonthebusgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Garden also viewed

 

Been to Happy Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing