We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Elko
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have stayed at this Holiday Inn over the years as we have traveled back and forth from Idaho and Utah and have always been satisfied but this trip the hotel seemed a little bit run down. Paint chipping, carpets worn, cigarette smell(it is a no smoking hotel). I think it is just in need of a little TLC. The staff are always friendly and the free breakfast had a lot of choices. The lobby is warm and friendly with a big screen TV and there is a computer in the lobby to access e-mails. There is free wifi with a password.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't face the freeway.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NorCal-traveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We are in the process of making several updates to the hotel. The hotel hallways have been repainted and several updates to the guest room as well. I would welcome the opportunity to have you stay at the hotel again and provide us the opportunity to go above and beyond. Thank You, John McIff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 206 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Elco is a long way from anywhere so we weren't expecting much.However the room was spacious and very comfortable with a settee and a chair,nice bathroom and a huge very comrtable bed that almost needed a ladder to climb up to get into bed.Breakfast was the only disappoitment-no fruit and very ordinary fare.Very close to Alderstones supermarket which has a very large range of food which you can consume in your room as it has a stove,microwave and frig.

Room Tip: rooms in the middle 09-11 and 10-12 seem to be slightly bigger but all are more than adequate in siz...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your stay at the Holiday Inn in Elko. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The staff and I seek to exceed every guests expectation. I will use your review to improve the quality of future travelers. Thank You, John McIff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My truck broke down on my way home and I have been staying here until it is fixed. The staff here has gone out of there way here to make my stay here as comfortable as possible. The G.M. John has been awesome. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallrat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

I am so glad we were able to be of service to you during a difficult time. I want to thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about your stay at the Holiday Inn. It was our pleasure to serve you while in Elko. Thank You, John McIff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice Holiday Inn Express! New hotel with very pleasant staff and accomodations that made our stay very enjoyable. Passing through Nevada can sometimes be pretty boring in spots but this stay was very refreshing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

I am pleased that the staff was able to deliver exceptional service. Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express in Elko, and thank you for choosing our hotel when there are many options in the area. the hotel staff and I look forward to your return when coming to Elko. Thank You, John McIff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Elko, Nevada because it was close to several places. Across the street is a grocery store, western store, a shopping mall and clothing stores. Right next to the Holiday Inn was another hotel with restaurant and bar and across the street was a Hotel/Casino with dining and bars. The hotel was currently being remodeled but it was not messy or dirty. The hotel has fresh made cookies when you go to check in and they have a very nice breakfast bar in the morning. The staff was very friendly and inquired if we needed help getting around town or just looking for a place to eat they would gladly assist.

Room Tip: There was plenty of parking on the west side the rooms towards the end of the hall seemed to be quie...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

It is good to hear we were able to provide a relaxing and enjoyable stop on your way home. Thank you so much for choosing the Best Western in Elko for your travel needs. I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. The staff and I take pride in making evey guests stay memorable. We look forward to having you in the future and if you have any needs or concerns you are always welcome to contact me directly. Thank You, John McIff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very nice hotel with excellent customer service. Everyone from the front desk to the maintenance guy was extremely nice and friendly. It's a great choice when staying in Elko. I have stayed at this location several times. Don't forget to go to the famous "Star" for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

It is good to hear we were able to provide a relaxing and enjoyable stop on your way home. Thank you so much for choosing the Best Western in Elko for your travel needs. I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. The staff and I take pride in making evey guests stay memorable. We look forward to having you in the future and if you have any needs or concerns you are always welcome to contact me directly. Thank You, John McIff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

HIE in Elko has been a home away from home for many visits.

Yes it does shows its age as compared to the newer ones like the Marriott, but it is reasonable in price too.

Location is convenient (but Elko being a small town, anywhere is pretty convenient). I have stayed in room that has small open kitchen with microwave, stove, oven and a small refrigerator. Other amenities that are standard in all rooms are flatscreen TV, phone, coffee maker, hair dryer, free wifi, toiletries.

Complimentary breakfast in the lobby are plentiful and do change slightly daily on the hot dishes. I do look forward to the freshly baked cookies in the afternoon.

There are no restaurants at the hotel, but eating places are plentiful across the street (Pizza, Chinese, fast food places etc) and even supermarket in that shopping mall.

Staff are efficient and friendly. On checking in they already have all paperwork ready for me and checking out is fast.

Though some rooms are showing their ages especially in the shower and faucet areas. Some grouts have a little bit of mold and some faucets are a little loose. Some shower heads kind of spraying funny. But overall not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

I was reviewing past reviews and noticed I overlooked this respnnse. I was pleased to hear the staff eas friendly and Efficient. The hotel has also gone through some updates and repairs since your last stay. The hallways wallpaper was removed and replace with a beautiful tow toned paint scheme and texture. The bathrooms have been cleaned and regrouted amung several other projects. The staff and I hope to see you in the near furture. Thank You, John Mciff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elko hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Elko Inn
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elko
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Elko
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Elko Nevada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko

Address: 3019 E Idaho St, Elko, NV 89801-4604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elko
Price Range: $119 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Elko hotel is a three-time winner of the Torch Bearer Award presented by Intercontinental Hotels Group. This award recognizes the hotel management for maintaining the highest standards of excellence in product quality, hotel operations and guest services. The Holiday Inn Express is a non-smoking hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located by the Ruby View Golf Course, restaurants, shopping centers, casinos and a museum. Our hotel also has a beautiful view of the Ruby Mountains. Easy access on and off Interstate 80 makes this facility the choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Our friendly staff will make you feel right at home amid our cozy atmosphere. All of our rooms are large and comfortable and we're always ready to check you in with fresh cookies and a smile. The next morning will start out right with our complimentary hot breakfast bar. Whether you're traveling on business or just having a little fun, you'll enjoy the luxurious Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Elko Hotel Elko
Holiday Inn Elko
Elko Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing