We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One bad seed in the bunch!”
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Elko
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I would rate a 5 , but this one guy..... he needs to check his attitude. Doesn't speak when spoken to , he has this vibe when you enter a room ,you can sense it. If he doesn't want to work there, find another job.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BIGGCEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 176 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

Where to start, I have been staying at the Thunderbird for a couple of months while working in the Elko area. At first the rates were good for the working man, and than all of a sudden the rates started changing every week. Now to top it all off I have had some prescription medication bottles start getting a little bit lighter, and not by the hands of myself. Needless to say I will never stay there again and write every review that I can so this doesn't happen to anyone else...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kon553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for only one night on our way to Park City, Utah. I haven't stayed in a motel in ages and this one definitely looks like it's been around for quite awhile. We ended up having our room changed three times...first room didn't have hot water, housekeeping staff hadn't finished cleaning up the second room but we were finally put into a clean room with hot water. I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and that some updates had been done. Comfortable beds!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Hey, my husband and I were driving point A to point B, we needed a clean room with a good bed and pillows. This motel is in town and not up next to the freeway, it is a short distance as the city is small. The motel was quiet enough and very clean. The bed and pillows were great. The motel is old but that does not bother us in the least, we rather enjoy the Mom & Pop places. The price was FANTASTIC! We felt safe in the location and went for a walk, even as it was dusk and turning dark. There is a Roy's grocery store nearby that we stopped in as we returned to the Thunderbird. If I find myself traveling through Elko, NV needing a place to stay, I will return.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Great affordable choice for overnight stop. Room was big enough for our family of four. Not modern but clean and functional. The bathroom lay out was awkward and small. Coffee in the lobby and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monice69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Thee rooms are exactly what one wants in a room...they were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The hotel is located near downtown, making it easy if one wants to take a walk around the older casinos. There are two drawbacks to this hotel...one is parking...finding a space late in the evening can get tricky because of configuration of the parking area...and two...the continental breakfast...it was extremely anemic with only fruit, juice, one sad package of pastries still in their grocery store wrapping, and a loaf of bread laying on the table also in its store wrapping...there was absolutely no cereal (a real staple of continental breakfasts).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, General Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Rogerdob,
Thank you for your comments we work very hard to always have a clean spacious room for our guests. We are experimenting with the breakfast so your comments are great the intent was to have a grab and go breakfast for the guest wanting to get on the road or to work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was the fourth time I have stayed at this motel. The price is reasonable, but has slightly increased apparently because it is under new ownership. The rooms are nothing special but they are clean and maintained on average basis. The staff at this hotel are great people who appear delighted to serve you. The location and the service are the definite pluses of this place. The hotel is utilized by several companies who house their employees for working in that area. This in itself is not bad, except the workers apparently work both dayshifts and nightshifts, so the traffic of people coming and going can occur around the clock. I did not experience any loud or offensive behavior from the workers, nor did they disturb me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rkickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, General Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for the comments and we appreciate the note that our extended stay workers are well behaved. They work hard and we keep this as their home away from home. Because of the long shift hours there is not much for them to do but sleep and go to work. We work hard to keep all of our guests satisfied and hope to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elko hotels
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
1.3 mi away
Best Western Elko Inn
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 30 in Elko
105 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
1.7 mi away
High Desert Inn
High Desert Inn
#21 of 30 in Elko
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 345 Idaho St, Elko, NV 89801-3135
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Elko
Price Range: $46 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good old fashioned western hospitality awaits you at the Thunderbird Motel. Reasonable rates, comfortable rooms and a central downtown location make Thunderbird your ideal place to stay in Elko, Nevada. Relax in a comfortable room or take a dip in the pool.Just off of Interstate 80, Elko, Nevada is within sight of the majestic Ruby Mountains.Thunderbird Motel is your perfect base for seeing all that this quaint northern Nevada town has to offer. The Thundrerbird Motel in Elko, Nevada, offers clean, economical accommodations that won't break your budget. All rooms are equipped with free wireless Internet access. The coffee is always on in our office! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Elko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing