We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable sleeping choice.”
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Elko
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Affordable sleeping choice.”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Great affordable choice for overnight stop. Room was big enough for our family of four. Not modern but clean and functional. The bathroom lay out was awkward and small. Coffee in the lobby and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monice69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    84
    21
    8
    11
See reviews for
41
57
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
La Canada, California
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Thee rooms are exactly what one wants in a room...they were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The hotel is located near downtown, making it easy if one wants to take a walk around the older casinos. There are two drawbacks to this hotel...one is parking...finding a space late in the evening can get tricky because of configuration of the parking area...and two...the continental breakfast...it was extremely anemic with only fruit, juice, one sad package of pastries still in their grocery store wrapping, and a loaf of bread laying on the table also in its store wrapping...there was absolutely no cereal (a real staple of continental breakfasts).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, General Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Rogerdob,
Thank you for your comments we work very hard to always have a clean spacious room for our guests. We are experimenting with the breakfast so your comments are great the intent was to have a grab and go breakfast for the guest wanting to get on the road or to work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was the fourth time I have stayed at this motel. The price is reasonable, but has slightly increased apparently because it is under new ownership. The rooms are nothing special but they are clean and maintained on average basis. The staff at this hotel are great people who appear delighted to serve you. The location and the service are the definite pluses of this place. The hotel is utilized by several companies who house their employees for working in that area. This in itself is not bad, except the workers apparently work both dayshifts and nightshifts, so the traffic of people coming and going can occur around the clock. I did not experience any loud or offensive behavior from the workers, nor did they disturb me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rkickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, General Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for the comments and we appreciate the note that our extended stay workers are well behaved. They work hard and we keep this as their home away from home. Because of the long shift hours there is not much for them to do but sleep and go to work. We work hard to keep all of our guests satisfied and hope to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights. This is my review in a nutshell: It wasn't the best motel I have ever stayed in, but it certainly wasn't the worst.

The room was clean, but although we had a non-smoking room, it still smelled of smoke and there were cigarette burns in the carpet. The bathroom was very clean, and really, that is the most important.

They also had a refrigerator and a microwave, and no coffee maker, but did have coffee in the lobby.

Parking was more than a little tight. On the weekends a lot of the miners from the surrounding mines come in, and they have a lot of bigger trucks.

It was quiet and the check in and check out was easy. The bed was very uncomfortable, but for one or two nights, this was a solid choice. The location is perfect, too!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side by the lobby. It backs up to an alley and is much quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank u2fan1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, General Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We appreciate your comments and we have converted most of the smoking rooms to non smoking. Some rooms will be getting new carpet this spring and the burn marks will be gone. It is sad as the carpet it not very old and has cleaned up very well during our renovation. The rooms are now delightful and brighter with new paint fresh drapery and linens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I work in Elko often, and I've tried many hotels there but find the Thunderbird to be my favorite. It is not new and fancy, but it is clean, convenient, and reasonably priced. The rooms are large and have good fridges and microwaves. It is way more interesting and fun to stay here instead of the newer chain motels on the other end of town. I love that they are keeping up the old neon sign with its big, colorful Thunderbird. This motel is within walking distance of downtown hotels and bars, which is very handy where you're in town for work and sharing a vehicle. I travel with my dog much of the time, so I like that this place is pet-friendly. I have only stayed here once since the hotel changed hands, but it seems like the new folks are working hard to keep this place in shape and even do some updating.

If you want a cold, boring chain motel that looks exactly like every other motel in every other city, you might not appreciate this place's charm, but if you want a warm and friendly place to stay, you should give this place a try.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RenoJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, General Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments about keeping the charm of this motel. We will continue to provide great hospitality and will always have a place for the traveler or someone needing a longer stay. Elko is a great place to visit and remember the old west and we do our best to keep it alive.
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stopped in Elko because it is half way between San Francisco and Colorado and this time we decided we wanted to be able to walk to dinner (at the Star Hotel Basque restaurant) and not get back in the car after 9 hours of driving. We hoped for a clean, quiet room with reasonable courtesy for a decent price. We asked for an upstairs room, near the back with one bed and we were accommodated by the front desk clerk, who was quite pleasant if a little flustered as she was a very new employee. The room was clean and acceptably appointed with a new large TV and not new, but functional furniture. The bathroom was clean, amenities fine and the towels seemed new. There is no breakfast provided, but we knew that and made other arrangements. The room was very quiet except for the 5AM wakeup occasioned by some dumb truck with those annoying back-up beeps -- OK, not the hotel's fault. The only deficit was no hair-dryer which I have come to expect from pretty much any accommodation these days.

If you want to stay in downtown Elko, this is a viable option in the "budget-Americana" category.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LNMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank your for your comments after your stay. We are listening to our guests and this week have started service an grab and go breakfast. We feel this is an amenity the guest will appreciate. We do see a lot of guests just passing through and we have an exceptional down town location near the great restaurants of Elko.
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed there last minute with no reservation. Was traveling to Salt Lake and simply couldn't finish the drive.
Room was awful had peeling wall paper in places. Front Desk person looked like someone you would not want to really talk to, and found it was true, rude, and was more interested in talking on the phone than getting me in a room.
I travel back and forth from California to Utah and Colorado regularly, and had thought price wise this was a good choice. was better when it was owned by the Red Lion.
I was actually making reservations for another city when I remembered about this experience there back in August of last year. maybe things have changed , maybe not....But who would ever pay for a bad experience the 2nd time? You got to get it right the first time or people don't come back....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan D, Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We purchased the Thunderbird from Red Lion in late September 2013 and proceeded to renovate and upgrade the property we are a clean fresh stop for you. We appreciate your comments and have made changes to improve your stay adding a friendly new staff. Please stop the next time you are in the area. We still have free wifi now the fastest in town, for your pleasure all rooms have flat screen TV's, micro waves and refrigerators. Fresh coffee is always on in the lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elko hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Elko Hotel and Casino
1.3 mi away
Best Western Elko Inn
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#9 of 29 in Elko
99 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Property: Thunderbird Motel
Address: 345 Idaho St, Elko, NV 89801-3135
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Elko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good old fashioned western hospitality awaits you at the Thunderbird Motel. Reasonable rates, comfortable rooms and a central downtown location make Thunderbird your ideal place to stay in Elko, Nevada. Relax in a comfortable room or take a dip in the pool.Just off of Interstate 80, Elko, Nevada is within sight of the majestic Ruby Mountains.Thunderbird Motel is your perfect base for seeing all that this quaint northern Nevada town has to offer. The Thundrerbird Motel in Elko, Nevada, offers clean, economical accommodations that won't break your budget. All rooms are equipped with free wireless Internet access. The coffee is always on in our office! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Elko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing