We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveler rating
239
180
92
40
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
180
92
40
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lioncoffee gardenaspen restaurantcoffee shoptable gamesin towntwo sinksflat screen tvnice roomsmall townbeds were comfortablegold countrynight's sleepone night staysalt lake citycasinogambling
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 576 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here for just one night and when I went to check in the person helping me was not mean nor nice, she just seemed OK. She just looked very tired and was not talkative. She didn't give me the greatest directions to my room but it was very easy to find since there was a lot of signs etc.
The room was very big and had a balcony with a view of the main street and the parking lot and the distance hills/mountains which was just fine. It had a fridge and a microwave but no chairs to sit on the balcony.
Even though my room face the busy street I could not hear almost anything or anybody overnight. For a casino hotel it was very comfortable and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwsaturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our accommodations. We strive to provide the best in customer service to all our guests and will continue our training of our Front Desk associates in that area. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stopped here for two nights on our way to Montana. We thought it would be fun to stay at a place with a casino and this hotel had the biggest casino in the area. It definitely was not Las Vegas but it was still fun.

The rooms were very spacious, clean, and also had balcony. The staff was very friendly and were knowledgeable about the games. We didn't win any money, but with as much as we drank and tipped I'm pretty sure we broke even.

My only complaint is that when you are walking towards the area where the rooms are, there is a horrible smell. As soon as you go through the glass doors to your room it's no longer there. We had to hold our breath every time we walked by this certain area to get to and from the casino.

Overall it was a good stay. There are two restaurants (although the 24 hour cafe has good food but horrible service), a gift shop, and a few things within walking distance. We would stay here again if we are ever passing through again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlslovesportstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We always appreciate guest comments through Trip Advisor and we take all of these comments seriously. Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were on a long roadtrip and found the Red Lion to be the best option as a pit stop for the night. First, they allow dogs for a small fee of $15. Second, the location is close to green space and the city park for giving the dogs a nice walk. The Aspen restaurant provided an adequate dinner, so we had a good experience and would recommend it for those passing through. It was also convienent having a Starbucks on site in the morning! The room was clean and comfortable. We could only smell smoke in the hallways; not in the room.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CJMSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Red Lion Inn & Casino on your recent stay in Elko. We are glad that you found our accommodations satisfactory. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently stayed here for a night on our way to Yellowstone. The hotel room was pretty clean even though it was a casino hotel and there were many guests with families and kids (that makes you feel safe). The location is good as well as it is close to the restaurants in the city. We will stay here again, if needed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tourist116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

We hope you are having a great time in Yellowstone. So many of our guests find that our hotel in Elko is the perfect stop between vacation destinations. We are glad that you felt safe at the Red Lion. We welcome you back on your return trip home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I just stayed two nights at the Elko Red Lion. We’ve stayed there before so we pretty much knew what to expect as far as room and amenities but some things fell short on this trip.

Our expectations for a room in the price range of the Red Lion (which I feel is reasonable) aren’t unrealistic- but we do expect clean and functional. The room was overwhelmingly smelly- a combination of old smoke and chemicals. It really reeked. We tried to open the slider to air it out but the door was off the track and my husband couldn’t get it back in. It would neither open nor lock. The sink had a fairly significant leak- we let Maintenance know about the door and leak the next morning. They put the door back on its’ track but the leak situation remained the same. Housekeeping had a few towels under the sink to absorb the water and they were totally soaked after we used the sink. The door and the leak didn’t bother us a lot personally but overall it was the smell that was bothersome.

One other area to comment on. We appreciated the shuttle service; we came in on Amtrak and had some extra items for family we were visiting. The driver who picked us up did not get out to open the back of the van or the door for us. It would have really been nice to have some help but nope, he wasn’t budging- I guess because it was raining. When we got to the hotel, he sat in the van waiting for us to get out. We wrangled our stuff inside (stepping around a man lying on the sidewalk). Once we were inside, the van driver came in and leaned against the wall watching us. Geesh, I didn’t expect him to carry our stuff but it would have seemed courteous to open the door when he saw us fumbling with it. When we left on Saturday morning we had the opposite experience, the Security Officer who volunteered to the receptionist to take us to the train and he could not have been nicer. I’m sorry I didn’t get his name-he was very helpful, kind and cheerful. Anyway, he made up for the guy who was darn sure he wasn’t going to do one thing more than he had to.

All in all, this is a casino hotel so perhaps it is hard to control people's smoking in non-smoking rooms. But perhaps firming up a non-smoking policy would help if the Red Lion ever remodels their rooms- which now seem a bit worn and with some maintenance issues.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kahana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

First, thank you so much for being a guest with us at Red Lion Hotels and for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. Your time and feedback are always appreciated.
I apologize that your stay at the Red Lion Hotel & Casino in Elko resulted in you leaving with a less than satisfactory experience. We like our hotels and staff to help make sure our guests feel warm, welcome and comfortable when they come to stay at our properties. What you experienced during your stay is definitely not a Red Lion Standard.
The feedback that you provided is very helpful to us so we can know what areas we need to improve on. I hope that you will continue to choose Red Lion in the future and you can leave your future stays feeling like you had a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews