We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Chained Pool"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Elko
Certificate of Excellence
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Chained Pool"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Red Lion at the end of June...Summer. One of the biggest attraction for us is the pool, and we only stay at hotels that have one. At 3:00 pm we put our suits on and went down to the pool. Once arriving there, we found the pool chained closed and filthy dirty (even if unlocked we would not have gotten in the pool). Such a disappointment for the amount of $ we paid. The rooms were spacious, and its true they have updated the sinks. Even with the new sinks, the rest of the room is very old-popcorn ceiling, old tub, etc. When we booked with Kayak, they put us in a smoking room, which the staff was able to change to a non smoking room.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, CEO at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
My sincerest apologies to you that our pool's daily maintenance had not been completed by the time you chose to swim on your recent stay at the hotel. I have discussed this with our maintenance department, who will work to schedule the pool cleaning on a consistent basis.

While it doesn't help you now, please know that we operate other hotels close by that have indoor and outdoor pools (seasonal) and that you are welcome to swim in any of those pools. I have spoken to our front desk to let guests know that this option is available.

Again, my humblest apologies to you.

Sincerely,

David Zornes; CEO
Red Lion Inn & Casino
Elko, NV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    158
    85
    37
    23
See reviews for
126
135
36
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose this hotel for a toastmaster conference and had a great experience. The banquet room we had was perfectly sized and the staff worked with us to get extra tables for the raffle items we had displayed. The food served was very good. The only hitch we had was a suite we had reserved along with the adjoining room. (Honeymoon suite I believe, it was a gorgeous room). The adjoining room had been given to someone else before we got there and the suite they tried to give us instead was inadequate. We kept the original suite, but had to add an extra room which took awhile to get reimbursed for. Ashley Libro, the sales manager, went above and beyond making sure we were eventually reimbursed. For the most part it was a great experience and I'd go here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are excited that your toastmaster conference was such a great experience for you. Our kitchen staff prepared your menu items with care and the catering department worked hard to take care of all items requested to help make your conference a success. We look forward to hosting your next event! Give us a call at 775-753-0508 to reach our catering department. Thanks for choosing the Red Lion Inn & Casino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was only an overnight stay but we couldn't have wished for a more comfortble room. The room came with a king size bed, free wifi, microwave, fridge, other typical amenities, and a free breakfast for up to four people. There is also a casino here but we skipped that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main street for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumihills2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, Executive Administrative Assistant at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed our stay at our hotel! Many of our guests remark on the overall comfort of the room with the amenities you mention. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel appears to be recently refurbished, which is nice. But for the price, I expect the stops in the sinks to work (one sink the stop was permanently down, the other wouldn't go down).

Exterior signage to get to the registration desk is pretty much nonexistent, so you might have to walk a little once you get inside. When we arrived, no one was actually at the front desk, but behind the wall as you could hear them talking. I think it was shift change. Once they came out, the people seemed friendly enough, but not overly. Having worked in the hospitality industry for 20+ years, sometimes in more remote locations than this, I expect more.

Rooms were tastefully decorated and clean. Beds were comfortable. Walls were a little thin as I could hear the couple next door getting their freak on a little. Flat screen TV had your basic cable with HBO. No on demand movies, which I thought was a little weird for a casino hotel, especially knowing the type of money hotels can generate from on demand movies. Wi-fi was spectacular, quick and easy.

BIG disappointment was that I couldn't find a vending machine in the hotel that worked. Every machine was either out of order or all selections sold out. But I NEEDED a Pepsi. Some people do coffee in the morning, I do Pepsi. I couldn't find a machine on my floor, so I went down to 2. Found a machine that was out of order. I wandered the hall on two, going towards the casino and ran into another that was sold out. Walked some more on two and then went back to three, found another machine that was sold out. By now, I'm cranky. Finally I go to the front desk and he sends me to the Chevron. So I did get a Pepsi, after walking about a quarter mile (half mile round trip). As I was purchasing the soda at the gas station, I was thinking, I won't buy anything else at the Red Lion and just get it here, but the joke was on me since the Red Lion also owns the Chevron.

End of story, the rooms are adequate, but nothing spectacular (mine looked nothing like the professional photos on trip advisor), wifi was spectacular, service reasonable but not spectacular, lack of availability of a morning soda from a vending machine anywhere on property was below failing.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZornes_CEO, Executive Administrative Assistant at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Our sincerest apologies that you were unable to find a soda when you needed it. We will be contacting the vendors to arrange more frequent visits to the hotel to fill the machines. Also, the problem with the sink stopper has been reported to our maintenance staff. We look forward to your return visit Sean, so that we have another opportunity to "do things right."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here a couple of nights ago. It was adequate. It's obviously a refurbished hotel which I appreciate. They only have queen beds - no kings. Just a personal preference when I'm traveling by myself. I got in late, coming back from a funeral and having driven all day so I was quite rung out. The front desk lady was pleasant and efficient.

The room was reasonable and clean. They had some cool shampoo, but oddly enough, no conditioner! The bed was so comfortable that I had planned on leaving at around 8 and actually slept til 9 when someone knocked on my door (housekeeping I assume and I was sure glad she did!)

Good enough for an overnight. Easy access to the freeway and gas (although the town isn't that big so almost everywhere is easy. AND they have a Starbucks inside the Casino where the girls were quite pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a first floor room that was very quiet considering it was close to the casino and a lot of traffic went down the hall. It did not smell smoky to me, but I did not run the heat or a/c. The room was large and only had 3 lamps with low watt bulbs so it was a little dim in some areas. The beds were a comfortable, but a little high. I am average height (5'4") but had to climb in like a little kid. At the restaurant I was seated in the first booth by the door, common for a lone female. Breakfast was good once I got it. She brought me the wrong meal first, then came back to explain they had 20 people in the back that were priority. I know most of them and at least 10 came in after I ordered my food. Took 30 minutes to get the meal I ordered.

Room Tip: Get a room near the registration/casino. It is a long walk from the far end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiem52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in a first floor room, which was very nice and deemed non-smoking. Upon entrance, I did not smell smoke and was pleased with the cleanliness. However, we ran the a/c or fan overnight and I woke to a stale smokey smell throughout our room. Maybe, the ventilation system picked up some of the smokey air from the casino and routed it our way...I don't know, but it was kind of a bummer. Overall, I would recommend this hotel...only maybe request a second floor room to see if it is less smokey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elko hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Elko Inn
1.6 mi away
Ramada Elko Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elko
0.4 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Elko
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Elko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel & Casino

Property: Red Lion Hotel & Casino
Address: 2065 Idaho St, Elko, NV 89801-2628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Elko
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elko
#4 Business Hotel in Elko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel & Casino is Elko’s premier hotel and casino, offering comfortable accomodations, great amenities and endless entertainment. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, we’ll make you feel right at home. Elko’s Red Lion Hotel & Casino features the finest accommodations available in northeastern Nevada. Enjoy plush, pillow-top beds, contemporary furnishings, wireless internet and more in our inviting guest rooms. We also have a fitness center, gift shop, seasonal pool and business center, so you have everything you need under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel And Casino
Red Lion Hotel Elko
Red Lion Elko
Elko Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing