We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find in the Middle of the Night !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of High Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Desert Inn
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Elko
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Find in the Middle of the Night !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Staff at front desk was very nice and it was nice that they had a room after we had checked several other places in town. Room was large, clean, and we definitely would stay there again. Morning Staff recommended a great restaurant for breakfast down the street (sorry I forgot the name, it was part of a hotel down the street). Would definitely stay here again if ever again passing through Elko.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    18
    10
    14
See reviews for
25
20
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

It was a stopover on a road trip. It was cheap, the room was clean, and the staff was very friendly. The indoor pool area was decent. For a last minute booking without knowing much, it's hard to complain.

Would I go back, no. but that's more an indictment of Elko than the High Desert Inn. The whole town seemed grungy and depressing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

The hotel was nice, clean and comfortable....but the housekeeping staff stole money from one of our rooms! If you stay, be very diligent in watching your valuables!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greend00r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elko hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

My wife made reservations for three rooms a month in advance after being shown a room. Our reservation started a day earlier than the other two. When we arrived it was for two doubles, not a king like we had asked for. We had to change that but because of the error the new room was on the opposite side of the building, away from our other rooms. It did not have either a microwave or refrigerator like the one my wife was shown and told ours would have. Half of the lamps had no electrical outlet into which one could plug them; the cord just ended at bare wall. Forget about trying to find a place to plug in a laptop, charge cell phones, printers, or Bluetooths. We had to buy an extension outlet strip and hook these devices up in the sink area with the hair dryer. An electrician's nightmare right with the sink and water. Each morning at 7:00 a.m. we were awakened by a tile saw screeching twenty feet from our window. The first morning it was stereophonic with a lawnmower a mere ten feet away. The television was so old and dim I could recall two sets I had given away in better shape. They do not have a business center or printer availible. We had one packet of coffee in three daYs. Three times we had to get new door lock cards because the old ones weouldn't. Are you considering this motel; don't even think about it.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bouvschip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

This is a good price! One of the big selling points for me at this...yes, down in the heels motel, is that you can back your car to the door, unload and keep an eye on your car. That is convenient when you're traveling for several days for business.
I always travel with a power cord so that you don't have to stand on your head to find a vacant electric plug.
I always strip the bed cover and blanket if there is one and just sleep on clean sheets (made that mistake in S. Carolina...once). The maid was kind enough to make up just the clean sheets for me each day and kept the covers off to the side. And I leave tips.
The refrigerator was a pain because it's either freezing your food or cooking it.
Nothing fancy, just a plain old room. By the way. The mattresses are great.
I hope when they finish remodeling their pool that they will invest in new tv's and fridges.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

Walked into room, one of the pictures over one of the beds was missing leaving just a ghost of where it used to be (tacky) In general room was clean but the carpet had many, many set in stains and cigarette burns on it with little apparent effort to remove or clean them (looked like someone got sick in a couple of places) Wiring and fixtures in disrepair and and needing more of them. Had to move the coffee maker into the bathroom as all the outlets were being used on the credenza and it was too heavy to move. Wanted to use the spa but it was broken apparently from another review for quite sometime as we stayed there 2 weeks later. TV was so dark we couldn't even enjoy the football playoffs on at the time. Had we not been so tired we would've asked for another room or our money back. It's obvious the owners need to sell the place to someone that can afford to keep the place up. Could be a hell of a nice place with the right ownership and care.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickybutfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crescent valley nevada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

Stayed with teenage grandson. Suite very nice. Tv is very outdated green color. Coffee was very good, very small pot. Comfortable bed. I would definitely stay in one of their suites again. Well worth the extra money. Bathroom and shower room for the pool was shabby and very cold. Spa was not operable, back parking lot icy not cleaned well. Too much smoking allowed in the hallways.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowwoman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elko hotels
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Elko Inn
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
1.8 mi away
Ramada Elko Hotel and Casino
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Elko
Super 8 Elko
#20 of 29 in Elko
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Desert Inn

Property: High Desert Inn
Address: 3015 E Idaho St, Elko, NV 89801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Elko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — High Desert Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All The Comforts of Home. All The Convenience You Want. Whether business or pleasure, High Desert Inn offers the kind of amenities that make you feel right at home. • FREE Wireless High-Speed Internet • Flat Screen TV's • Bright, clean, comfortable decor • Fully-Equipped Fitness Center • Indoor Pool & Spa • Variety of Business Services • Free Courtesy Shuttle • Next door to Elko's Best Casinos & Restaurants at Red Lion & Gold Country! • Starbucks next door at Red Lion Hotel & Casino So if you're traveling through Northern Nevada, to or from Twin Falls, Salt Lake City, or Reno, this is the perfect place to stop a night... Or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Desert Hotel Elko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing