We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Elko
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Driving from California and didn't expect such top quality along the way. Beds, pillows, linens and pillows were of high quality. The room was also immaculate. We needed pet accommodation, there were places to walk our dog and waste bags and bins too. Within an hour of our arrival, the front desk called to ask if we needed anything!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Jewell-Hotel-Mgr, Manager at Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for posting such a complimentary review about your stay with us! We strive to provide the best quality, comfort and service to all our guests and I'm pleased to hear we succeeded!

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and hope you have a wonderful Holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    128
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
100
100
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Not only was the hotel room nice and clean for the 30 days I stayed there, but the staff was absolutely fantastic! I would happily stay here again, had a great experience! My only negative is that rooms were a little outdated, but my understanding is they are working to change that!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyGirl27924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Jewell-Hotel-Mgr, Manager at Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I'm so happy to hear you had a great experience during your 30 day stay with us! We are very proud of our staff and will definitely pass on your kind words to them.

We are working to update all of our rooms; so far we've installed new Flat Panel TV's (in every room) and replaced mattresses in about half!

Thank you so much for posting a review and choosing us for your long term stay. We hope to see you again soon! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I realize this motel would not be for everyone, but it was a perfect fit for my needs. The check-in and check-out experiences were just average, although the woman who assisted me both times was extremely nice. The outside of the place is pretty drab. And there's an odd mixture of inn buildings, RV parking, and maintenance facilities. I was fortunate to get a room with a parking place right in front of the door, which made it easy for me to unload and then reload my car. My room was also an end unit, so there was minimal noise. The bed was super comfortable, and I slept very well. The room was very nicely decorated, and the furniture was actually quite beautiful. The decor was old west style, and someone has put a lot of time and attention into selecting furnishings that create a warm ambiance. The carpet was somewhat worn, but the room was very clean with no hint of smoke or any other unpleasant odors.

I was disappointed that the fitness room hours didn't overlap my stay. I took a peek in there, and the facilities seemed decent.

Overall, I was glad I chose to stay here for a short night of sleep in the middle of a long drive.

Room Tip: I would lean toward a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Jewell-Hotel-Mgr, Manager at Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for posting a review! I'm happy to hear we provided everything you needed for your stay and that you enjoyed the decor of your room. We take pride in offering our guests a nice, comfortable room and it's wonderful to hear we did that for you.

I'm sorry you were unable to utiltize our fitness room during your stay. Due to it's location we needed to put those hours in place for our guests comfort in the surround rooms.

Thank you so much for choosing us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Not so crazy about staying in a casino hotel because the lobby was smoke filled and noisy. But the reservation clerk was very nice and accommodating. The room was also a nice surprise, clean and well furnished without that lingering cigarette smoke smell that comes with so many converted "non-smoking" rooms. The shower worked great and the bed was comfortable although a little worn. We asked for an upper floor away from traffic and the room was quiet except for one late arriving guest with a loud diesel truck.

We weren't impressed by the restaurant (the wait staff were the only people that weren't nice). We only ate here because it was convenient, however I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with breathing issues as the non-smoking area was not separate and was very smoky. Food was just OK.

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for your preference - they try to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pazu_past
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Jewell-Hotel-Mgr, Manager at Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay wtih us! I'm pleased to here you were happy with your accommodations however I'm saddened to hear about your experience with our restaurant. Please be assured I will be passing on your comments to the management and staff.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
248 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

From the outside, this looks pretty much like a typical 1970s-era motel. Wasn't sure we would stay until I walked into the lobby--filled with slot machines and pretty campy. Reservation desk employees were very nice and helpful. I have to say things looked pretty shabby until we unlocked our door. The room was very clean, nicer than the exterior would predict and the beds very comfortable. Dinner in JR's Steakhouse was decent and very inexpensive. Pretty entertaining to stroll through the casino and fine for a one-night stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noni314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Jewell-Hotel-Mgr, Manager at Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for stopping and deciding to stay! We appreciate you posting a review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed at this location for a single night. The accommodations were fair. Large room - which was nice. The other property's I've stayed at in Elko were not as roomy. Plenty of hot water for our showers ( 2 occupants in the room).

The beds were comfy and the room was well appointed. A little on the noisy side. At 3:00 AM, a 'neighbor' was heard yelling very loud for his companion to hold the door while he was moving luggage. This woke us both up and was very concerning after being in a deep sleep. Outside traffic (train and vehicle) could be heard, but, was not overpowering.

The pool is outdoors and due to the late season was unavailable.

Staff was VERY nice and our reservation was error free.

I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Try JR's restaurant. Very Tasty & Excellent Service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagainNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Jewell-Hotel-Mgr, Manager at Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a review! We take pride in offering the best customer service and so it pleases me to hear our staff was very nice and your reservations were correct. I do apologize for your noisy neighbors and hope you were able to get back to sleep.

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Elko and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here twice on our cross country drive. The first time we have a really nicely western styled furnished room right across from the laundry area-it was very convenient since I had to do laundry-Area D! I loved the room decor! We parked right outside our door.
The 2nd time we stayed here, we had a small dog and we had a plain large room-(not cutely decorated ). The parking area was very small and we had to park way around the corner from our room-Area A. The hotel has exterior doors. We would stay here again but we will not stay in Area A because of the parking.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Area A unless you don't mind parking away from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Jewell-Hotel-Mgr, Manager at Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello! Thanks for posting a review about both your stays with us! We are very happy you chose us for your stop in Elko.

We are very proud to welcome pets at our property and allow them in our A & E buildings so when you come through again give us a call and we'll try our best to get you into E building. Thank you again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elko hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Best Western Elko Inn
1.5 mi away
Ramada Elko Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elko
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Thunderbird Motel
Thunderbird Motel
#15 of 29 in Elko
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino

Property: Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
Address: 2050 Idaho St, Elko, NV 89801-2627 (Formerly Gold Country Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Elko
#5 Romantic Hotel in Elko
#6 Business Hotel in Elko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi. Gold Country Inn and Casino provides clean, spacious and clean rooms in the gold mining mecca of Nevada. The best lodging, dining, and gaming in Elko. Whether you're looking for a relaxing getaway or just a fun night out, come to the one place that offers big-time action in an intimate, friendly atmosphere. Delicious dining. A warm, inviting hotel with comfortable rooms. Conveniently located off Interstate 80. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Gold Country Hotel Elko
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn And Casino
Gold Country Hotel
Best Western Elko
Elko Best Western
Gold Country Elko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing