We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpretentious Mexican food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sergio's Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

Sergio's Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Nevada
Level Contributor
357 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Unpretentious Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Been here many times. Everytime when i am in Elko I have eaten here many meals.

Not a typical sit-down restaurant, no real waitresses. You order food at the counter with all choices shown with photos (though a little faded over time). The same people worked there always and efficient.

Love their salsa/chip/cabbage slaw bar (for paying customers its free). Menu portions are quite big and very reasonably priced. No ambiance whatsoever, but, on the hand, just there for the food,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Elko”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is by far the best mexican restaurant in Elko. The atmosphere is not the best, but don't let that detour you from the awesome service & yummy food. We have been coming here for about 10 years. I oder the vegetarian burrito and its so big it takes me two days to eat it. Its made fresh. But my husband loves their fish tacos. He says they are the best. You order at the counter and then go find a table to sit at or an take home if you prefer. They have pictures on the wall of the menu so you can see what looks good to you. There is a salsa and chip bar with fresh made chips and salsa. They give to go containers for their chips and salsa if you need. We love it:)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The gentleman behind the counter was very helpful in helping me pick out what to eat. The coleslaw(?) was a little bland, but the salsa was way hot. The dinner itself was very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tommysaxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Creek, Nevada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“simple place with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is not fine dining, it is an order at the counter place, you fill your own chip bowl and dish up the salsa. Burritos are large - average eaters can easily split one or take half for tomorrow- but they are very very good. Flavorful but not hot unless you ask for it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rmgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Free chips and salsa bar for paying customers. Not like the others in town who charge for chips and salsa. Not to mention the servings are massive. Chimi is my favorite, taco salad is the next best. The Surgio's burger is by far the best in town. If your looking for a great burger order up you wont be dissapointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fishfly_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sergio's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing