We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lousy value and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Elko Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Elko
Certificate of Excellence
Foresthill, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lousy value and overpriced”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had high hopes of the Elko Best Western, as it was the only hotel we could find with queen beds! Sadly, our expectations were not met by any means. On arrival, I noticed the paper debris on the carpet that was left behind after an insufficient (or nonexistent) vacuuming. Next, I noticed the skin debris on the glass shelf next to the sink. Third, I found hair in the shower. I called housekeeping, and a woman came up and wiped down the shower and the shelf... and then had to be called back to re-do the shelf. She didn't bother to look around to see if there were any further housekeeping lapses. Thankfully, the beds appeared to be clean.

We decided to spend some time in the pool, which was too cold. We tried the hot tub, but since it was filled a good 6" lower than it should have been, the temperature was uncomfortably hot. Some tile was missing in the area, and, given the price they charge, there was no excuse for all these maintenance and housekeeping lapses.

Breakfast was average, but there was dried-on food scum down the front of the trash which had been there at least since the day before.

The one good thing I can say about them is that the room was large.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolizoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWElkoGM, General Manager at Best Western Elko Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
New staff training is always a challenge. We have replaced multiple staff positions in housekeeping and in our kitchen for the very issues that you mention in your review. We are very sorry that we gave you the poorest of impressions of our hotel. We would like to invite you back so that we can do things right. Please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    230
    84
    37
    19
See reviews for
246
175
44
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The staff made sure I had access to a hose & some old towels. A small detail but important after 400 miles on a new bike. Room was comfortable & clean, also important after 400 miles on a bike. 2nd stay at this BW. Would definitely come again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWElkoGM, General Manager at Best Western Elko Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We often have compliments from our guests how the staff goes above and beyond to provide outstanding customer service to our guests. So glad that we were able to provide the items you requested for your motorcycle! Thanks for staying with us! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The good: the 1 bedroom suite was a perfect size for our family of 5 plus dog, and the interior room was clean. The staff was friendly, although not always there - we had to wait for the front desk woman to show up at check in for a while (by the aroma, it was clear she was on a smoke break), and no one answered several times when we called the front desk.
The bad: the hall carpets had not been vaccumed in AGES. There was dirt, mud, all sorts of stuff all down the halls. Outside the side entrance closest to our room was a BUCKET of cigarette butts that had not been cleaned for AGES, which made entering and exiting the building a joy...Even though they knew we had 5 guests and would need the sofa bed, it was not made up, nor were there linens for it. When we requested them, they were just handed to us (I guess I expected them to make it for us, not used to having to make my own bed in a hotel. I'm spoiled!) In the early morning, the bedside alarm went off and even when we unplugged it from the wall it wouldn't turn off!! We had to throw it in the hall! When we went swimming later, there were no more towels poolside.
The breakfast was pretty bad, compared especially to the Best Western in Twin Falls, which had more variety (here there was no yogurt, granola, hard boiled eggs, pastries like there was there). So not the nicest Best Western around, but it wasn't horrible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWElkoGM, General Manager at Best Western Elko Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your visit. We take all comment and suggestions very seriously. I have already discussed your housekeeping concerns with our executive housekeeper and your comments about breakfast with our breakfast attendant. We look forward to your return visit when we can do things right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here one night as part of our road trip. The room was both clean and comfortable with every thing we might possibly need. The reception staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with a good selection as well as a waffle maker which made excellent waffles. Food was replaced quickly when it ran out. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWElkoGM, General Manager at Best Western Elko Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Best Western Elko Inn. Your compliments to our staff will be shared with them. They work hard to please all of our guests. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

We checked in in late July, 2012.
We had a reservation for a non-smoking room. We got to our room....it reeked of cigarette smoke. Our second room was okay, big, but sparsely furnished.

We slept well. Then time for the complementary hot breakfast.

The gravy for the biscuits and gravy was cold. I wanted scrambled eggs...none in the pan. Finally, a full 25 minutes later, when I was done with breakfast, the eggs arrived. I wanted a second cup of coffee.
Both large airports were empty. One of the three people working in the kitchen told me "sorry bout that". Me too.

Also, we enjoyed indoor pool, but the hot tub was barely warm.

What we have here is a friendly enough staff, a nice enough facility, and....a poorly trained staff, a motel cutting corners to curb expenses, and a management that's not taking care of business.

For now, for this money, find a different motel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveySm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWElkoGM, General Manager at Best Western Elko Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
I am very sorry that your breakfast experience was below our standards. I have spoken to our new staff in the kitchen about heating the gravy before putting it in the warmer. As far as our running out of eggs and coffee as you were sitting down for breakfast, my sincerest apologies. We are working with our new staff to help them anticipate cooking needs before any particular items start getting low. As with many things in the hotel industry, we always have challenges. In regards to the hot tub, we are isolated in Northeastern Nevada and unfortunately when circuit boards go out, we do not have anyone local who can repair these items and we usually have to call in repairs from Salt Lake City or Reno. We are waiting for a shipment of a circuit board so that we can get the boiler up and running. Again, though it doesn't help you for your previous stay, please know that we are working to take care of the spa and working with staff in the kitchen to improve our service. Again, my sincerest apologies to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nice oversized room, very clean, quiet, very good breakfast, and very friendly front desk, christy was very polite, don made me coffee at 3a.m. Will go back again! If your looking for a peaceful night, look no farther, priced below other big chain in area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puggsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWElkoGM, General Manager at Best Western Elko Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We have a GREAT Staff here at the Best Western and I am so pleased that Christy and Don went out of their way to take care of your needs. Thanks for staying with us! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Large, VERY nice motel. Staff was very pleasant and professional. Room was very, very clean. Had King bed, micro and fridge. Room was very quiet.The breakfast was outstanding. Wide choice of hot and cold food including Belgian waffles, sausage gravy, cereals, muffins, breads, juices, fruits, coffee, milk, and more! Convenient to freeway but not noisy. Ate dinner at Luciano's and both of us had delicious Italian entrees. Very nice stop on a long trip.

Room Tip: Far away from elevator, stairs, or ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWElkoGM, General Manager at Best Western Elko Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Many of our guests are surprised at the quality of our FREE HOT BREAKFAST. Most assume it will be a simple continental breakfast, but we offer a wide variety of items, which you have discovered! We're so glad you have a great experience at our hotel! We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elko hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elko
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Elko
1.3 mi away
Ramada Elko Hotel and Casino
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Elko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Elko Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Elko Inn

Property: Best Western Elko Inn
Address: 1930 Idaho St, Elko, NV 89801-2629 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Elko Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Elko
#2 Business Hotel in Elko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Elko Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access right off I-80 at exit #303. This award winning Hotel offers everything a traveler could want. Stop in and try one of the best Breakfast buffets around. Enjoy the one of the largest pools in the west. Relax in the hot tub after a long day on the road. Stop in and try us for yourself. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Elko Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elko Hotel Elko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing