We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily Surprised”
Review of The Flying Fish - CLOSED

The Flying Fish
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Italian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Flinging Fish provides a comfortable environment, with an outdoor patio, a bar and lounge. Catering, a conference room for business meetings that can accommodate up to 20 people. The Fish will only use the best products on the market, and you can tell the minute you bite into our food. With a full service bar that has many hand craft beers and a lounge to relax in.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happily Surprised”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Based on reviews we read we were a little worried to try The Flying Fish but we were happily surprised. Service was good, even with some large graduation tables there at the same time. I had sushi in a Bento Box and it was well prepared and delicious. My boyfriend doesn't do sushi but instead went with pork and it was delicious. Even his salad was prepared excellently. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethelannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    29
    17
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Valley City, Utah, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great sushi and pasta”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

i have been to the old location but the new one is much nicer, good atmosphere and great food, especially in the little town of elko

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveE304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sushi in Elko? ”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Who would have thought you could find great sushi in the middle of NV. Torre, our sushi chef, was so nice, knowledgeable and knew exactly what we wanted. The spicy scallop handroll he made was just the right amount of heat and really fresh. The Unagi long roll was so tasty. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Kym F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dinner twice in three days”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A wonderful establishment with a huge variety of excellent sushi and wonderful Italian dishes.
(Not the usual combination, I know). It was soooo good we ate twice during one long weekend.
The service was professional and friendly and they all hustled to serve the crowds.
I recommend the bento box. gnocchi and vodka pappardelli.I ate breakfast here last year and really look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey6f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
624 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Great menu but service needs a lot of work! Ridic”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had 3 meals at the Flying Fish this week. Breakfast had great coffee, but was a total mess. I ordered the veggie Benedict which is poached eggs on a corn cake, portabella and spinach. It came and was a sprinkle of spinach with poached eggs - no corn cake or portabella making it a significantly smaller dish. When I questioned the waiter he said " oh wait!" , left and did nothing. It was kind of ridiculous. My husbands breakfast was stone cole and actually the scrambled eggs looked old. We asked for butter for the biscuit and... Nothing. Service was terrible. We had dinner with friends twice. One night was ridiculously slow, but they did get the orders right. The second night, was mayhem. We were 6 people and food, drinks etc, arrived whenever, the waitstaff seemed to be unable to answer questions and it really became laughable. Luckily we were not on a hurry. avoid breakfast, but it is a nice menu.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Fish also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing