We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food but expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flying Fish - CLOSED

The Flying Fish
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Flinging Fish provides a comfortable environment, with an outdoor patio, a bar and lounge. Catering, a conference room for business meetings that can accommodate up to 20 people. The Fish will only use the best products on the market, and you can tell the minute you bite into our food. With a full service bar that has many hand craft beers and a lounge to relax in.
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good food but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

It's good but I prefer other sushi places. My hubby and I love sushi but not this place. They were super slow and the food wasn't that great just okay. The prices though... killer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank zaria4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    29
    17
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reno
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great Tempura Shrimp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Not my cup of Tea, however, went with a business group and had a great time. Service was excellent and although I do not care for fish or sushi I had an terrific shrimp tempura. I will return again jsut for thta dish and the great service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband is from Elko and works here M-F, he eats here regularly. For me, it is a real treat to visit and we go to dinner here.
Extensive menu, innovative, well priced and great service

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An unexpected breakfast treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had heard that this was a great place for dinner. I was open for Saturday breakfast... we tried again on Sunday but no luck.
Service was friendly and attentive. Hand crafted food was superb. I recommend the hand cut corned beef hash. My son enjoyed the biscuts and gravy. Prices were good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harvey6f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
1 review
“Not Just for dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had 3 meals here during the 2012 Cowboy Poetry Gathering, because we liked the menu, the delivery, the room, and the proximity to other touchstone spots. Breakfast was roughly the same price as our hotel's, and about 4 stars better. (Don't tell anyone, but there are items for gluten-avoiders, dairy-avoiders, and others who watch what they eat.)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Fish also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing