We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toki Ona

Toki Ona
Ranked #10 of 84 Restaurants in Elko
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We wanted to try Basque food while in Elko and the recommended Star and Biltoki were very busy so we went to Toki Ona. The portions were huge and we ended up packing away half of it for the next day! Very reasonable prices too. Food was nice, not outstanding but good. Atmosphere very nice and service really good and friendly. Would visit again but also would like to try the other Basque restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Savcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    36
    12
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
281 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Great place to go for an easy breakfast. Good service, food was prepared well. Not fancy but good for a traveler.

Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springtown, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“mediocre at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I ate here with 2 children (8 and 15) and my 2 parents (mid 80s). We wanted Basque-style family dining and while they describe themself as a Basque restaurant, they aren't really. My youngest ordered a child's meal, my parents ordered senior meals. They come with a side, but are not family-style. My oldest child and I ordered fried chicken to split and paid for extra sides. They were served Basque-style, but the food was tasteless and barely warm. The only good part was the chicken skin- it was delicious. The portions were very generous, but the prices were rather steep for the quality..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jodeegu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible and expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

A total dive that charges 15 - 25 dollars for gross main dishes and canned side dishes. Avoid at all costs. I'd rather eat at McDonlads, and I hate McDonalds.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank diablito916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno nv
Level Contributor
272 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A little different but very good!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Not like some Basque places where you have to sit with others that you don't know Not that there is anything wrong with that! But when you want to visit with the people you are with it is very nice to sit in a regular booth. Also there is an actual menu you can look at not just a board or being told what is being served that day. One person in our party ordered a steal A very large steak!! The other two of us went for the baked chicken. It is only $13.99!!!! We did not choose it for the price but when we got all the food that comes with it I was impressed with the price. You get a self serve tureen of chicken soup.It is very good! The salad doesn't look that great just lettuce with a white dressing but it is so good!!! It has a tangy garlic dressing. The next course is speghetti and chicken flavored rice and green beans. The green beans were just green beans, the rice was very good. The half chicken is served covered with a grilled red pepper a colorful idea and good, You get your choice of patatoes the baked was just right and the french fries are a very large order in a seperate bowl. The chicken was very moist and baked to an even brown color It looked good and tasted good The service was very quick and refills came without asking The bread is like sheepherders bread or like homemade white bread Overall a very nice dining experience. It looks like a 50's diners but if you want good food at a fair price go there!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieRenoNv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toki Ona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing