We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Carson City

Motel 6 Carson City
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Carson City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2749 S Carson St, Carson City, NV 89701-5502   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

For a little over $50 what do you expect?
The room was small but updated.Fridge,microwave and a clean outdoor pool were all there.The only major complaint was they did not provide shampoo and conditioner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yosemitesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedonna R, General Manager at Motel 6 Carson City, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Yosemite Steve,
Glad to hear you were happy with the microwave and refridgerator in the room. Motel 6 does not provide Shampoo in our rooms, however we do offer it in our vending machines. Hope to see you again if you travel in this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    17
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
11
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I hadn't stayed in a Motel 6 for years, but based on the reviews here I decided to try this one. First room they gave me wasn't actually ready. Went back to the office and they put me in the room next to it. It was not very clean, namely the floor didn't appear to have been swept, let alone otherwise cleaned (room had vinyl flooring). Also, the various horizontal surfaces were dirty, but I had some wet wipes so just wiped them down. But then I realized the room had ants in it, and a very noisy AC unit...it sounded like a metal plate inside was rattling around. I called the office and asked if they could do anything about the ants other than spraying smelly insecticide. No luck there, so I was moved to another room. At least the AC was relatively quiet and there were no ants, but it still wasn't very clean so I put my wipes to use again. At least it was quiet (I ended up in a room facing the parking lot, not the road). I had taken a cue from an earlier reviewer and asked for the "non-smoking building" as I can't stand second-hand smoke. While apparently all the rooms in that building are marked as no smoking, I didn't see any signs outside asking smokers to steer clear. Fortunately, however, I didn't notice anybody smoking nearby, at least not anywhere near my doorway. The wifi did work well, and the fridge was handy. I never got around to trying the TV. And of course the room was quite plain, but that's always been true of Motel 6. I'm rating it average relative to my expectations of a Motel 6.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, request the "non-smoking building"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedonna R, General Manager at Motel 6 Carson City, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Candace,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write about your stay. We apologize for the inconvience that you experienced during your stay. We hope if you are ever back in Carson City you will give us another chance. We take your comments very serious and be assured we will look into everything you stated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANOGA PARK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We always prefer inexpensive, utilitarian rooms when we travel, but this was almost too spartan. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, the air conditioner worked, there was a microwave and a very nice refrigerator which even had a freezer, and the free wifi worked well.

But on the negative side, the room was so small as to be almost cramped. There was no coffe and not even a box of tissues. No breakfast, one small table, a tiny bathroom and the little corner shower was almost too small to turn around in without touching the walls or curtain.

As another small complaint, we had reserved a room with a queen bed but got a double bed. I asked the clerk for a queen bed as shown on our printed reservation, but was told the room assignment had come from national and he was not allowed to change it.

All in all, the room was usable, but we regretted not having gone to the America's Best Value motel right next door and advertising the same price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IVAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedonna R, General Manager at Motel 6 Carson City, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Ivan H,
Sorry to hear about your stay not being what you wanted. If you were in a room with one bed, they are all Queen size, if you were in a two bedded room they are all full size. Motel 6 does not provide coffee makers in the room or kleenex. We do serve Coffee in the lobby every morning.
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know of your stay. I cannot make our rooms bigger but there are a lot of Motel 6's that have larger rooms, so we hope you try another Motel 6 in your journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Sierra
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

After our second visit to this Motel 6, Sedonna took the time to contact me about our issues with the room smelling of smoke. As she suggested, we requested a room for our third visit in the non-smoking building, rather than just a non-smoking room. As usual, our stay was pleasant, quiet, and now, fresh-smelling! Additionally, the area available for walking our dogs was nicer on this new-building side of the property. We come to Carson City a couple of times a year for events with our dogs, and these rooms with microwave and fridge included are perfect for us. Add in customer service that goes the extra mile as Sedonna did, and we guarantee we'll stay at this Motel 6 next time we're in Carson City.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about stale smoke smell, request a room in the new non-smoking building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedonna R, General Manager at Motel 6 Carson City, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Lynne A.
Thank you so much for giving us a second try. We are so delighted we were able to provide the accommodations this time that made your stay a pleasant one. We look forward to seeing you again when you travel through Carson City. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, UT
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Very pleasant experience with this Motel 6. We'd about sworn off Motel 6, however we needed a pet friendly room this trip and did not want to pay an arm and leg, plus the reviews here were mostly positive. The room presented as clean and pleasing in appearance. Carmen was very cordial and helpful. If there be a down side it would be the exterior approach to the rooms. They need some cleanup and give an urban atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again if the situation arises.

Room Tip: Upstairs are above ground level noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cord149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedonna R, General Manager at Motel 6 Carson City, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Cord149,
So glad you gave Motel 6 another chance. We are very happy your stay was a positive one. We hope to see you back again. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write about your stay with us.
Sedonna Reith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at many Motel 6's with our two dogs. This is by far the nicest room we've had and very clean.
They put us on a ground floor as requested, nice for taking dogs out for a walk. There was a grassy area to walk dogs and plenty of trash baskets so clean up after pets.
The room had a hard surface floor, again great for dogs. The bathroom looked recently remodeled with a vessel sink.
The room was quiet, very reasonable with a good location. What more could weary travelers ask?

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedonna R, General Manager at Motel 6 Carson City, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you Linda for your comments about your stay with us. Our customers feed back is very important to us. So happy you enjoyed your stay, and we hope for your next visit you will return to stay with us again.
Sedonna Reith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

stayed overnight 4/10/14 with checkout 0n 4/11/14 room was basically clean with the exception of the bathroom floor needed a decent wipe down...it wasnt like totally gross but could tell it needed to be wiped down complained to mgr last time i stayed with this property had another room wsith same problem...asked if maid could come in and wipe down floor but she never showed up...need to have maids really clean the bathroom floors!!!!!!

Room Tip: back side rooms are quiet...i use the ada rooms as i am disabled didnt much matter where they were l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauri r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedonna R, General Manager at Motel 6 Carson City, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Lauri R.
Sorry to hear your experience with us was not up to standards we greatly appreciate your comments about your stay so the staff and I can improve on making sure these things are taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carson City hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Carson City Max Casino
1.2 mi away
The Plaza Hotel Carson City
The Plaza Hotel Carson City
#9 of 17 in Carson City
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hardman House Hotel
Hardman House Hotel
#7 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carson City
2.5 mi away
Gold Dust West Carson City
Gold Dust West Carson City
#3 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Carson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Carson City

Property: Motel 6 Carson City
Address: 2749 S Carson St, Carson City, NV 89701-5502
Location: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Carson City 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Carson City NV is conveniently located off US 395/S Carson St at Sonoma St. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Play golf or go to the movies within 4 miles. Enjoy our modern rooms, seasonal pool and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Motel-6, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Carson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Carson City
Carson City Motel 6
Carson City Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing