We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Friendly and Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Hills Motel

Desert Hills Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Hills Motel
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Garden Valley, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Friendly and Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stay here whenever we are in Carson City. The night clerk is very friendly and the rooms are very clean and up to date. Good air conditioning too. They allow dogs and have a very clean pet area. Motel is very quiet when we have been there. Excellent dinner place directly across the hwy. Red's 395 Grill, excellent food and antique decor, with wagons hanging from ceiling in old style warewhouse setting. We will stay at this motel again and again as long as they keep up the great work and friendliness. Highly recommend and you can't beat the prices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1bearswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

The rooms are back off the main street so, it's quiet. The rooms have been updated. It has a fridge and microwave but no coffee pot. The office does sometimes. There is a nice area to sit outside and a place for dogs. It is close to the capitol (2 blocks.) The grounds are beautiful. Great value.

Room Tip: If someone is in the room above you, it is obvious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gottrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

We have stayed here several times in the past years and missed about five years until this Thanksgiving. They are still the same clean, friendly motel. Rooms are fairly large for a motel, very clean, our stay was very quiet even tho the motel was full up. The dog "yard" area was very clean. And the best place for a great lunch or dinner is Red's across the street. We will be back to this motel and I recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1bearswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We had stayed here for one night 2 years ago and thought "what a nice place, we'll come back if wer'e in the area". Well I guess a lot can happen in 2 years. The room was just ok, old but it seemed clean until we used the bathroom. The initial burst of water from the shower was brown, if you don't place the shower curtain in just the right place you have a wet floor, when you wipe up the wet floor you get black towels. Just when was this floor last washed??? They also have long term residents who live on the second floor of the motel. We had one over our heads who appeared to enjoy stomping feet or moving furniture, we're not quite sure which. Like the other reviewers said, there is an excellent restaurant across the street, well worth the visit but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wingerdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carson City hotels

San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

This is that kind of motel you hope to find when you are on a road trip and just want cozy, quiet, affordable comfort and even a touch of that roadside motel charm. Like the previous reviewer, I've been there several times and the people have (even through manager changes) always made you feel welcome. Pet friendly too. The restaurant directly across the street is a must see if not eat. Historic, with lots of art and a broad menu and impressive bar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabatchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Nevadas, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2008

They allow pets which is nice. The rooms are not fancy, but very clean, comfortable and reasonable (much nicer than Motel 6, Super 8, etc.). We have stayed here several times, and will stay again. The people at the front desk have always been quite nice. Good restaurant across the street.

  • Liked — allow pets, yet rooms are immaculate
  • Disliked — prefer four star hotels, but they don't take pets
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carson City hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Carson City Max Casino
0.1 mi away
The Plaza Hotel Carson City
The Plaza Hotel Carson City
#9 of 17 in Carson City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Carson City
Courtyard Carson City
#4 of 17 in Carson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gold Dust West Carson City
Gold Dust West Carson City
#3 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hardman House Hotel
Hardman House Hotel
#7 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills Motel

Property: Desert Hills Motel
Address: 1010 S Carson St, Carson City, NV 89701-5232
Location: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 261

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing