We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - a definite keeper!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bliss Bungalow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bliss Bungalow to your Saves list
Bliss Bungalow
408 West Robinson St., Carson City, NV 89703   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Carson City B&B and Inns
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay - a definite keeper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Great location and comfortable surroundings. First time in Carson City and since this is set back in a more residential area very quiet and enjoyable. Really enjoyed wandering around the main floor and looking at the antiques. We stayed in the Sun Room and it was great, especially the private entrance so you could come and go without disturbing anyone. Bed was super comfortable and plenty of room to move around. Loved that the toilet had the tank close to the ceiling with the pull chain!! When we come back, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Zerbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
santa cruz california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Bliss Bungalow at least a dozen times over the past 5 years. The owners Joyce and Ron live close by and are quick to respond to any request. The fridge is usually stocked with yogurts, juices, milks,1/2&1/2, bread, butter etc. Hot and cold cereals and Starbucks coffee are supplied. The coffee maker works great (when you read the instructions). The rooms are clean and appropriately decorated as an arts and crafts era bungalow. Several local restaurants do take out (menus and area guides in the bungalow library). Often we'll pick up dinner and return to the bungalow porch to enjoy. It's not the Hilton or Holiday Inn corporate experience...but that's what we're trying to avoid. If we visit Carson City, it's where we'll stay!

Room Tip: Sun Room or Forest Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikecruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had a stop here driving on a trans-US road trip (between Lake Tahoe to Salt Lake City). Carson City's a bit of a strange place - lots of big out-of-town shops - but the B&B was in a small residential area. Beautifully decorated in an arts and crafts style, really oomfortable room and was lovely to be able to pop in and out on our own with the code. Were able to use the PC downstairs as well which was handy. Only slight downside was that the 'Self-serve, 24 hour continental breakfast' seemed to have been raided by someone else, as there was only an apple and an orange in the whole place!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceR006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

A group of us rented the whole house recently and had a wonderful visit. The house is very spacious and filled with charm. It was lovely to arrive in Carson City to a house beautlfully decorated for Christmas. It really put us in the Christmas spirit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marypoppins913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

What a delightful place! Well appointed rooms, comfortable, good location, great value!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KonaMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed one night here in the 'Sun Room' mid-week right before Halloween and had the whole house to ourselves. The house, on the corner of a quiet residential street, was decorated for Halloween on the outside, tastefully done on the inside with 'period' pieces. There are five bedrooms total (three upstairs), all with their own bathrooms, microwave and mini-fridge ( the 'Sun Room' has it's own house entrance, too). The kitchen is self-serve, so you can make yourself coffee or tea; there is milk, half and half, sugar, a small selection of cereal, seasonal fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels or bread and some yummy, individually wrapped pastries. We used the pc to check emails and DD was fascinated with the rotary phone and the typewriters! There were plenty of books, etc, to read and emergency phone numbers posted just in case. Everything went smoothly so we never communicated with our hostess on this trip, making reservations via email.
The bed was comfy enough, though softer than I am used to and queen sized. We were warm as each room has it's own thermostat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenpomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

The concept is interesting, unhosted inn, and it looked good on the website. However, it didn't measure up to expectations. The house is beautiful but the decoration is cluttered and kitschy. Facilities, the bathroom, internet, in room fridge & microwave were fine but the good pieces of furniture and art were filled in with tacky pieces that ruined the effect.

My biggest complaint was the kitchen. I was the only guest that night so expected a clean kitchen and fresh snacks. What I got was trash in the can from previous occupants, old fruit that should have been thrown out long ago, dirty microwave and the coffee maker that was supposed to start with a push of the button, didn't. Pastries provided were cheap little cellophane wrapped things. So fortunately I'd brought my own favorite tea, coffee and breakfast things so didn't go hungry.

It wouldn't take much attention to bring the place up to standard but as it is I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jyphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonbctraveler, Owner at Bliss Bungalow, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
wow - we appreciate feedback but this one is a dilly...let's see if we can respond......

We have received awards and accolades for our historic, arts and crafts, interesting and warm touches to the very period decor. Two sets of guests this morning were raving about the collections of artifacts and how enjoyable they were......each to his own I guess, can't please everyone.
We did have guest durings the day, sorry for some items in the kitchen common trash can, the coffee maker works beautifully when desired water (according the instructions and to your desired strengh of coffee) is added to with the push of a button, pastries are minimal as we aren't truly a bed and breakfast, just an inn......and starbucks coffee, multiple herbal tea choices and cereal, yogurt, etc. are available gratis and as a convenience for guests, over and above any offerings as an Inn - no reason to go hungry........ but for a big breakfast, we don't have facilities to provide. Sorry about the microwave, oops....will remind staff...... And people love the privacy of the Inn........no socializing required.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carson City hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carson City
0.6 mi away
The Plaza Hotel Carson City
The Plaza Hotel Carson City
#9 of 17 in Carson City
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gold Dust West Carson City
Gold Dust West Carson City
#3 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City
0.3 mi away
Hardman House Hotel
Hardman House Hotel
#6 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
2.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bliss Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bliss Bungalow

Address: 408 West Robinson St., Carson City, NV 89703
Location: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1914 Arts and Crafts home, fully restored in 2005, has the original fir floors, bay windows, pine molding with leaded glass windows, sitting rooms, TV/Office area, kitchen and five guest rooms. Each guest room has a private bath with shower, refrigerator, television, alarm clock, hair dryer and hand made soaps. The queen beds are pillow top mattresses, 400 thread count sheets, each with down comforters and pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Bliss Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing