We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel, excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel Carson City
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Southwest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Older hotel, excellent value!”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Pet friendly, clean, roomy and quiet, this hotel may not be elegant or beautiful, but it was was the best deal in town and we will certainly go back. The room was slightly musty, but that evaporated once the air conditioner was turned on. Otherwise, it was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    30
    9
    14
See reviews for
25
28
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
278 reviews
276 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

the rooms are very large and clean and include a fridge, microwave, cabinets and cable tv. the continental breakfast was good and service was very quick and efficient. they have discounted rates for aarp, aaa, etc.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heiths,Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2009

The room was quite large with micro wave and frig and a small wetbar area.and table and chairs. Across the street is a casino and very good restaurant which was reasonable,The hotel has an elevator to the 2nd floor if you are handicapped and no rooms are available on first floor. This is a small hotel but very clean. the beds are comfortable and pillows are adequate

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grassskirtlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We had an excellent time at this hotel. The staff was helpful and attentive. I had a problem with a blocked site on my computer for work, and their tech fixed it in a timely manner. The connection to the internet was excellent and fast. Our room was clean and spacious. We had gone out to breakfast and came back and our room had already been serviced, and was beautifully cleaned. The only issue we had was the shared pool was at a bit of a dumpy hotel next door, with no bathroom for the pool, but the manager there was also very nice. All in all we had a wonderful stay and would happily stay there again.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

THE PLAZA HOTEL - 801 South Carson Street, Carson City, Nevada 89701 - I recently stayed at this hotel and was disgusted with the staff and the way this place is run. The owner's son and manager (Mike Millard) started screaming at another guest in front of me when they came to the front desk to complain about not having reliable free wi-fi as advertised. A member of the front desk staff also confided in me that the manager actually keeps a log of all web sites guests visit. What finally disgusted me after a week at this dump was the constant use of the rooms for local prostitutes. After leaving the hotel I did some research and found the manager has been arrested numerous times for drug dealing and has been convicted of embezzlement. I strongly advise all travelers stay away from this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mamie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carson City hotels

Las Vegas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

I need my laptop for business and especially when I am in Carson. This is the only place where my laptop can't get internet access. Please be advised it has never worked here for me and I will not be staying here again. Seems like false advertising to me.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pippin_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

I was very happy with our overnight stay. The room was large, with high ceilings. The bathroom had sufficient towels and amenities for the 2 of us. The complimentary continental breakfast featured bagels from Costco (the same ones I have eaten for breakfast at home), cream cheese, juice, cereal, milk and coffee. The wireless access was free and easy to connect.

The only drawback was the bed. The mattress was a bit firmer than I cared for, but I slept fine. Everything was clean and fresh.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the room
  • Disliked — Firm bed
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ArtieDart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carson City hotels
0.7 mi away
Hardman House Hotel
Hardman House Hotel
#7 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Carson City Max Casino
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carson City
1.5 mi away
Gold Dust West Carson City
Gold Dust West Carson City
#3 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Carson City
Courtyard Carson City
#4 of 17 in Carson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel Carson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel Carson City

Property: The Plaza Hotel Carson City
Address: 801 S Carson St, Carson City, NV 89701-5205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Plaza Hotel Carson City 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carson City Plaza is the largest Hotel in Carson City and centrally located for convenient walking distance to many local Restaurants and Museums.The Plaza Event Center caters to Business and Social Events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Plaza Hotel Carson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Carson City
Plaza Carson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing