We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple is good”
Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
Ranked #48 of 188 Restaurants in Carson City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: It's a new restaurant
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simple is good”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Olive Garden menus are the same just about everywhere you go. I stayed simple by ordering their house salad and the zuppa toscana soup with breadsticks. It all tasted good, and the service was great. They had a specialty margarita on the menu for spring and I loved that. The price was about what you pay in most bars, but I think it actually was a little stronger than most. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5_Frosts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, NV
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average American-Italian restaurant”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I were less than impressed with the choices and quality of the food, especially for the prices charged. The sauce choices for the pasta dishes tasted like they came out of a jar. The salad was good, but the breadsticks were just breadsticks. The service was exceptionally good - very friendly and very professional.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marknroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“MUCH BETTER”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped in late one mid-week evening. Not crowed and very fast service (maybe that's why). Went here twice soon after it opened and was disappointed with the wait and quality of food. I've been to many Olive Gardens over the years and this is not the best nor the worst. There does seem to be a great improvement but I would not want to fight the crowd that stands outside in the evening. The one in Reno is still one of the best; both in service and food; although sometimes the wait can be long.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frugel-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainier, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
817 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Tribute to veterans”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We took advantage of Olive Garden's free meals for veterans on Veterans Day, and were not disappointed. We have dined at Olive Gardens throughout the West, and this one was typical. The menu, the food preparation and presentation are pretty much standard. What makes the difference is the staff. The Carson City staff, although this is a new franchise, are obviously experienced wait staff. In contradistinction to some reviews of this restaurant, food service was prompt, and entrees were hot. As MacArthur once declaimed "I will return!"

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalamariverrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good servers, but poor meal!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went here just before Thanksgiving for lunch to meet with friends. We were almost the only party in the building and yet it took the kitchen over 1 hour to get our lunch out! The servers offered us so much bread and water it got ridiculous. They really need to figure out how to run this kitchen to get a few meals out!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Always-Goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing