We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family restaurant at its finest!”
Review of San Marcos Grill

San Marcos Grill
Ranked #10 of 188 Restaurants in Carson City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: 775-882-9797
Restaurant details
Description: 775-882-9797
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family restaurant at its finest!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Everything they serve is like you are eating at their family dining room table. Exceptional food at the finest quality. I will return and do so frequently. I also just found out about their monthly tequila tasting so will be joining them for that as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NVHotelManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    30
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic and friendly”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stopped in for lunch. Fast friendly service and tasty food! The room temp was a little chilly and the ladies room was way cold, but I would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Velma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Very slow service the day we were there!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our experience with this restaurant is very different from most of the reviews here. Every place has a bad day once in a while, maybe this was theirs. My wife and I went to the San Marcos Grill after a recommendation from casino personnel at Fandangos. It is located in a rundown strip mall but looked to be the kind of place that could put out fantastic Mexican food. When we entered, we were greeted immediately and seated. That's when the waiting started. It took over 10 minutes and an argument between two waiters as to who was going to wait on us. When the fellow who lost came over, he wanted to know immediately what we wanted. We explained that we had not received menus when seated and he left the table. In a moment, he came back with the menus and took our drink order. Again...a minimum of 10 minutes before we received the drinks, and that was after we had flagged down a passing waitress. SHE then took our food order and things began to get a little better. The food (I had the Plato de Verde and my wife had the fish tacos) was good....not the best we've ever had, but tasty and plentiful. Not wanting desserts, we again flagged down the waitress and requested our check. Wait for it.....wait for it....you guessed it! Another 10 minutes! I finally stood up and walked to the front, where the man who had first come to wait on us figured up the bill and took our money. I mentioned the wait times and he just shrugged his shoulders. No apology, no explanation, nothing. I would have understood if this were during the noontime rush, but we arived at about 1:15p.m. and the restaurant was not overly crowded. Total time in the restaurant (for lunch) 1 hour and 35 minutes. Being retired, we can do this...if we were working, we'd have had to walk out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrapperH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Carson”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you're looking for mexican food in Carson City, this place is a must try. Although it resides in a strip mall, the restaurant is clean and the atmosphere is vibrant. The servers are prompt and friendly and are knowledgable about the food. And the food is excellent! If you like fish tacos, they serve a killer grilled fish taco. The carnitas are uncommonly tender and moist and work well in any dish. Your guacomole is made tableside and you get to pick the ingredients. The prices are a tad higher that other mexican restaurants in Carson, but the value is high.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carsonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, good food, great service”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

After a few recommendations from our hotel front desk, we settled upon mexican food for the evening meal and we were not disappointed. The atmosphere of this quaint place is very family friendly and the service was top notch. The food was quite good as well and we enjoyed it very much, though there wasn't anything that set it apart from any other mexican restaurants we've been to. That being said, we would most definitely stop in here again for a meal when we are in Carson City.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dontw0rrybhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marcos Grill also viewed

 

Been to San Marcos Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing