We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks great -- so-so Takeout Pizza”
Review of The Fox Brewpub

The Fox Brewpub
Ranked #8 of 184 Restaurants in Carson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Fox Brewpub, formerly know as the Firkin & Fox, is a traditional, English-style pub located in the Historic St. Charles Hotel in downtown Carson City, Nevada.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looks great -- so-so Takeout Pizza”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wanted to eat there at the restaraunt b/c it looks VERY cool. Old historic building maintained very well! Because of our timing, we called in for pizza take-out. It was average to flavorless, and stuck to the cardboard box. Wished we instead ate there b/c they have a great menu. Looked kid-friendly...there were others there with small children. Good ventilation (not smokey). Great staff. Would like to try again if I'm ever back in town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank redlight114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    74
    24
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Blending of American Sports Bar and English Pub”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Firkin & Fox in Carson City is located in the old historic St. Charles Hotel located across Main Streen from the State Capital Building. It is a perfect blend of an American Sports Bar and an English Pub with an extensive menu of foods ranging from English Pub foods, through sandwiches, Pizzas and Pastas. The prices are moderate and the service is great. Whether you're in town during lunch or dinner, this is a must go to restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty average meal.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch. Would choose another restaurant if in the area again. The stuffed potato skins, an appetizer, were excellent. My corned beef and cabbage was basically average and my friend's flat iron steak was 'passable'. My husband had the Guinness steak and mushroom pie, which he said was great and would choose it again. So, one of three diners were pleased with the meal.....Meal service was average wait time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nona4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soulsbyville, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best thing I ever ate!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went to the Firkin and Fox on our Way to Reno for Lunch. It is an old building with indoor and outdoor seating. Kinda a pub eats kind of atmosphere. I had the Guinness steak and mushroom pie. It was so good. I will definitely go back just for that.
The service was pretty good, but it wasn't very busy. It was super hot outside, but the inside was so cold that I had to have my jacket. Good beer selections.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abracabubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, NV
Level Contributor
551 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Good Beer Selection”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Have eaten at Firkin & Fox several times this past year. Atmosphere is good and cozy, but not to small. Service is friendly and fairly quick. Wish they offered more dinner specials as we have tried most of the menu. The hubby absolutely loves their chicken curry. In the summer the outdoor patio with large fireplace and little white lights is great. Good place for dinner out with the family or just the hubby! :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox Brewpub also viewed

 
Carson City, NV
Carson City, NV
 

Been to The Fox Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing