We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable and interesting museum

My family and I planned a visit to this museum the day before Thanksgiving. It was the 1st time... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ajrenca
,
San Jose, California
Go Into the Mines

This is one of the coolest museums I've ever visited, and I've seenr a lot. Not only does it have... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Warren S
,
Fort Lauderdale, United States
Read all 377 reviews
  
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveler rating
242
113
20
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
242
113
20
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carson city mint ghost town natural history mine shaft gold mine last friday silver coins native american history coal mine couple of hours old west all ages state museum coin making gun collection on display gold mining
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 377 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2018

We spent probably three hours here. It is a wonderful museum and a nice blend of the old and the new. Lots of history of the area of course, including a mine tour that while not real, seems pretty real. Not like Disney scale, but kids would really enjoy it too. Also small "ghost town" to explore. They have one large area for rotating exhibits and when we were there, it was World War I memorabilia which was interesting. Gosh so much to look at I can hardly remember it all. The old building was the original Nevada State Mint and interesting things in that area too, and of course the Wooly Mammoth is great. Very enjoyable time there. All is handicap accessible except for the mine. Loved it. Whole family would have a good time here. Small handicapped parking area also.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

The mammoth skeleton was the highlight for our youngster 3 yr old who is really into dinosaurs, but the mine was a little too scary for him.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 413kimberlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

This is an excellent small museum simply filled with an extensive display of artifacts, natural history, and mining lore. The mine shaft replica is outstanding. The display of silver tea/coffee serving sets is not something one sees every day, and is magnificent. As is the coin press. Plan to spend at least 2 hours, and possibly more. Well worth the $8 admission.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank TrudiC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

it is a place you can take the whole family to, it gives you alot of information on the history of nevada

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Even if you know Nevada history you will definitely learn something new here. Enjoyed all the exhibits and was even lucky enough to be able to tag on with a docent led tour. The mint is a gem by itself. In fact I liked the museum so much that I became a member - and I don't even live in Nevada. Kids will like it too since it's not a "stuffy" museum. Don't forget to stop in the museum store- I found several interesting jewelry items..and some books.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank akamaiblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews