We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Chicken Fried Steak I ever was served”
Review of Brandin' Iron

Brandin' Iron
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Caliente
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Chicken Fried Steak I ever was served”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were on our way home from the Great Basin and stopped in this place for a meal. We ordered the fried chicken and a chicken fried steak dinner. When the waitress was asked if the chicken could be all dark meat, she said NO because it was FROZEN! That should have been our first tip off but we ordered anyway. The fried chicken had a quarte inch of batter and the chicken fried steak was solid grisel and completely inedible. The french fries were extremely over salted and could not be ate. We will never make the mistake of stopping into this place again!!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joec52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    29
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good place to stop”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Went to the Brandin Iron when staying in Panaca, where there are no restaurants. The steak was good and very well priced. The side of green beans were a little overdone, but all else was good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobandWendy151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wounderfull food and Service”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My family and I go there to Caliente Nevada every year. And we're hooked on the Bradin' Iron that is the only place we eat in Caliente. Love it 100%

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice Stop, Nice Food”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Really enjoyed the stop for a bite to eat here after a long day of travel and 3 more hours to go, it gave us some much needed out of the car time and little Nevada history in the menu.

Ordered the salsbury steak because it came with grilled onions and mushrooms, and wasn't in the mood for a normal steak. Meat was very juicy and tasted great! Had green beans on the side, along with the twice baked potato, which was a little dry but the great toppings made up for it, cheese, green onion and a smoke house bacon, made the whole meal satisfying.

Didn't care of the lettuce they used in the salad, but that's just me. It had some large cut cucumbers and cherry tomato so that helped it along. Had a serving of the clam chowder for the desert not bad.

Missed out on the butterscotch creme pie, the waitress said it goes fast, but they had several other pies to try, but we didn't.

Waitress was nice and very helpful. Several locals came in while we were eating, so this must be the place on a Friday night in Caliente.

They serve coke products.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoxAnnaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojave Desert
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mediocre Meal, Foul Water, Surly Service”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Mediocre meal
Foul water
Surly service

The bank is the only visitor-friendly business in Pioche. All other business people adhere to the cliché in the old western movies, “we don’t take kindly to strangers in these parts.”

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Desert-Reiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandin' Iron also viewed

 

Been to Brandin' Iron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing