We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give it a 5 if only”
Review of Mel's Diner

Mel's Diner
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Beatty
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I'd give it a 5 if only”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

they would scrub their cutting boards. The food was well-prepared (we had breakfast) and tasty, but the hash browns tasted slightly of fish, and the fresh lemon they brought for my tea tasted slightly of onion. Aside from that, it was a generous, tasty breakfast, served by an on-top-of-it waitress who took care of us like family. Can't complain about the prices, either. Oh, they could fix the doorknob to the bathroom, which my partner (with arthritis) couldn't open by herself. Ooops.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    99
    37
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good value. good food.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

No nonsense diner. No nonsense service. Good coffee. Good food, good portions. Cash only. Lots of locals eating there which is always a good sign. I wish I had ordered pancakes as they looked great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Mel's is small so you may have to wait a bit, but well worth it. Our order was taken quickly, coffee brought immediately, and there was a very short wait for our food to arrive. Our food was excellent with huge proportions and reasonably priced. I highly recommend and the best meal in town.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank turtlelady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You won't need to eat till evening!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Wow! A full menu followed by a full plate. This place is busy at breakfast, and to be honest we've had happier service elsewhere. The food makes up for it though.Have not been for lunch. This place is clean and a typical diner decor.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rutlandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Breakfast & lunch only. The food & service was very good and the prices were fair for what you got. No decaf coffee in the whole town of Beatty- so bring your own if that's all you can drink.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mel's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing