We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent motel for price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Death Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Death Valley Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent motel for price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Death Valley. Rooms have great bed, tv, coffee pot, small frig and microwave. Also a pool on premises and laundromat next door at RV park. The noise was not an issue for us as stated in one review. Across street from great breakfast place Mel's Diner. This motel is clean, a Great value and half the price of staying in Death Valley National park. Beatty is friendly town with cheap gas and good food at reasonable prices.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank eceprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    121
    117
    32
    24
See reviews for
87
139
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Death Valley Inn while visiting Death Valley National Park. It is located approximately 30 miles northeast of the park in Beatty NV. The drive between the two were easy and without much traffic. I am actually grateful for this little town and it's inexpensive prices for food, gas, and lodging. The town was easy to find your away around. I definitely always drove the speed limit since I heard about tickets being given out on a regular basis.

As for the hotel. Check-in was a little slow but that was fine. It was just a busy time where everyone else was checking in at the end of the day. I asked for a first floor room since I had a lot of bags that I did not want to drag up stairs. There are no elevators. Parking was plentiful and I got spots in front of my room both days.

The room had a coffee maker and refrigerator which I always look for when out on road trips. It was a basic room but most importantly it appeared clean. The bed was not the most comfortable. I did not even try the internet since I read other reviews about it being slow. I also had to plug in my computer at the outlet by the chair and ottoman since I could not find an outlet by the desk. The room had an old television with about 20 or so channels. Housekeeping sprayed some sort of air freshener in the room which I personally did not care for but after leaving the door open for about an hour, it was gone. There was an ice-maker at the corner end of the hotel.

My only complaint is that I could hear every step of the people upstairs and it was loud. Fortunately, it was not all night, just for a few hours when people were relaxing from their outings. I also got up very early so missed it in the morning. If you are a light sleeper this may bother your and I would recommend just asking for a second floor room.

There were restaurants within walking distance and a gas station/convenience store around the corner. There is even a casino at the other end of town and a nut place that I drove by but did not go into. Overall, it was good stay. The price was right, the staff were nice, and it met my basic needs.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldWanderer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolsward, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Death Vally Inn is a very modest motel. The rooms are big and clean, but they didn't look so modern. A bit simple, but everything was there, everything was functional, so we slept well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maderuiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

we have spent a night just before going to the death valley. The staff was nice, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The hotel has a fast internet connection, enough parking places.
You have all conditons for a good rest before going to the Death valley.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Just finished 3 night stay here and this is a very nice motel at a pretty good price. The room was clean and in great shape, having been remodeled about 4 years ago the clerk at the front desk said. In fact, the entire motel was rebuilt, so the outside looks brand new. I really have no complaints about this place and would highly recommend it to anyone and stay here again myself. I guess if I had to nit pick, the shower was hard to regulate the temperature, turning cold even after I had set my temp, so I had to adjust it several times during my shower.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photorod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We've stayed at this motel twice now and the funny thing both times we've been given the same room. The room was clean and the bed was good enough to get a decent nights sleep. My big complaint is the shower. The water kept changing temperature. One minute it was hot enough to burn you the next so cold you froze. Took a while to shower as you had to keep moving away from the spray until it would equalize out and you could stand in it again. For breakfast go across the street to the diner their food is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were at Beatty two different nights. I got scared off of this one because of the poor reviews and booked the El Portal for our first night. That wasn't available for our second night, so I went with the Death Valley Inn. (El Portal was ok, but junkier. Better wifi though.)

Our room was updated, freshly painted, and quite nice. Very clean. WiFi was slow but serviceable (one of our 2 rooms had an ethernet connection which was much faster). Main pool was ICE COLD (mid-March) but the hot tub was good. All in all a very good value!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
0.3 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Portal Motel
El Portal Motel
#1 of 6 in Beatty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Atomic Inn
The Atomic Inn
#6 of 6 in Beatty
3.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
28.2 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Death Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Death Valley Inn

Property: Death Valley Inn
Address: 651 South US-95, Beatty, NV 89003
Location: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the site of the historic Burro Inn Motel, the Death Valley Inn Motel is the best place to stay, whether you are visiting Death Valley National Park, traveling along Highway 95, or just trying to get away from it all! Our motel offers over 60 clean comfortable rooms, a beautiful pool, Jacuzzi and barbecue area, and a laundry room right on site. We are also in easy walking distance from Mel's Diner, Exchange Club Motel, Beatty Museum, and convenience stores. 24 hour food and gaming is just a short drive away at the Stagecoach Hotel & Casino, and home-made ice cream is also available in Beatty at the Death Valley Nut & Candy Company (located next to the Motel 6) - you don't want to miss that! All of our motel rooms have high-speed internet and satellite TV, a hair dryer, shampoo & lotion. Our RV Park features 39 pull-thru spaces, with 50 amp hookups. We have a dump station, showers, and restroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Death Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Death Valley Hotel Beatty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing