We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Portal Motel
Nearby Hotels
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Motel 6
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranch at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
$368
$234
Cancelon
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Inn at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
$253
bedfinder
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
    $91
    $88
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Amargosa Opera House and Hotel(Death Valley Junction)
    $85
    Orbitz.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel(Death Valley National Park)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (200)
    Filter reviews
    200 results
    Traveler rating
    51
    98
    42
    4
    5
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    51
    98
    42
    4
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsdeath valleylarge clean roomslocal informationfamily run placehuge roomsmall towncan't beat the pricelong daysan older propertysmall fridge and microwavestay there againroad tripgas stationrhyolite ghost townchillitwo queen bedslas vegas
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    96 - 101 of 200 reviews
    Reviewed March 11, 2013

    This is an excellent place to stay when visiting Death Valley. The cost is less than half of what you'd pay by staying in the Park. It's not the Ritz, but it's very comfortable.

    PROS:
    Quiet - from room 21 we couldn't hear road noise. The next room was occupied for the three nights we were there, but we never heard the neighbors.

    Room size: larger than most.

    Clean: an older property, but everything was spotlessly clean.

    Everything works: the Wifi, microwave and fridge worked well and the fridge's compressor was almost silent. Don't know about the heat, AC and TV because we didn't use them.

    Management: excellent, helpful management. We asked for extra plastic cups and they left 10 of them.

    Beds: comfortable.

    Towels: still had plenty of life in them, not the threadbare towels often found in budget motels.

    CONS: a 35 minute drive to Stovepipe Wells or Furnace Creek. But the drive is gorgeous and the extra gas costs much less than the additional cost of staying in the Park.

    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank rcaz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 7, 2012

    We stayed in a room in the front building. The room was very old, but huge. Everything worked, and the sheets were crisp and clean. That's all we needed, and it fit the bill perfectly - especially for the price. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, along with a small kitchen table with chairs. If you want to take the family on vacation but can't spend enormous amounts of money on lodging, this could be the place for you.

    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank conniefire
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 15, 2012

    Our room would have been a good value anywhere, but it seemed even more so in comparison with the lodging inside Death Valley National Park. Beatty is only about 35 miles from Stovepipe Wells, and our room was cheaper by a factor of almost 3 relative to Stovepipe Wells and a factor of more than 5 relative to Furnace Creek. It was also enormous, even for two people and two bicycles. There was a desk with plenty of space to spread out a computer and papers, plus two comfortable upholstered chairs in addition to the desk chair. Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, and everything worked fine--fridge, microwave, wi-fi, plumbing, large (but not flat screen) TV, lights. They gave us more soap and shampoo and towels than we knew what to do with. The motel is an old-fashioned mom-and-pop style place, which was fine with us. The only minus for us was the lack of an ice machine.

    Beatty is, of course, a tiny place. Restaurants are limited to a 24-hour Denny's inside a casino, a handful of establishments that style themselves as saloons, and Mel's Diner (excellent breakfast and lunch, but no dinner.) There are two gas stations ("Eddie World" with a Subway sandwich shop and ice cream counter, the "Rebel" with a local deli.) Eddie World also has a large, rather ideosyncratic nut/candy/souvenir store that must be seen to be believed. The town also has one very small market, "Beatty Mercantile", with groceries and hardware; we were told that residents drive to Pahrump (a long way!) for supermarket shopping.

    Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    7  Thank bicycledude
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 25, 2012

    We walked in to this motel and stayed one night on the way to Death Valley. The room was basic but clean and comfortable, bathroom was clean with hot water running and wifi worked fine. This was all we needed. No complaints, especially for the price we have paid. If you are just after a clean room for sleep, I would recommend it

    • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Bahadir
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

    Brilliant location for Death Valley and faultless value for money. Clean, good size room, but very basic. But you expect that for what you pay for, perfectly adequate though.

    • Stayed: April 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank fizz16
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews