We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Close to Death Valley NP” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Portal Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Portal Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Certificate of Excellence
at sea
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Close to Death Valley NP”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The room was a bit dark and quite dated, but the price was right. Fridge and micro in the room was great, but no ice machine available. Wifi was sporadic. Family owned and operated and friendly enough. Very convenient location for access to Rhyolite ghost town and entrance to Death Valley NP.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NineofCups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    79
    34
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
74
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is an old motel that is a bit junky, but they were busy painting bathrooms and doing some updating. Bedding and bathrooms were clean, beds were firm. WiFi was fast. Micros and refrigerators are not common in the area and a big plus for a traveling family. The chairs were beat up, carpet and other furnishings old, but it is a decent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We can't afford the resort inside Death Valley, so we book this motel for overnight rest.
Just a basic motel, with basic service. We book online for $45 per night, at this price I can't really ask for too much. The only issue I have is there is no coffee machine in room, but it does have microwave oven.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alohayao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

At first glance the outside of this place looks pretty bad, however we stayed in the single story behind the original old building. Room was very large and clean. Carpet was stained and there was no coffee maker in the room. For the price not a bad deal. Would stay here again if back in Beatty

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 120
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mrtonothorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Hey, it was someplace to sleep! Not much to offer in Beatty!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-KRIM-FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Spent one night here after a long drive from San Francisco on our way to Death Valley. Made a reservation beforehand via their web site - our $49 room was huge with two comfortable queen beds, mini-fridge, microwave, and cable TV. Free wi-fi is also available.

The room was pretty tired looking but funky and with character at the same time. Since this hotel is a block off the highway it was really quiet at night. There is a great bar and a few dining options just a short walk up the street.

**Note - when driving in Beatty be sure to obey the speed limit and traffic laws. We saw two sheriff's vehicles (pick up trucks) pulling people over when we rolled into town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Clean bed linen and the location is the best you can say.

Very run down with a noisy aircon and that wonderful authentic dripping tap.

A little cheaper than super 8 but unless there is no room don't save your money.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toninoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
0.3 mi away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Beatty
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Atomic Inn
The Atomic Inn
#6 of 6 in Beatty
3.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Motel

Property: El Portal Motel
Address: 420 West Main St, Beatty, NV 89003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Motel is located in Beatty Nevada just outside Death Valley National Park (only 8 miles away) making it an ideal location to rest up from your daily adventures at the park. Located two blocks from Hwy 95 makes it easy to find and proves to have less traffic giving you a quiet and restful stay. Our Motel is a small cozy Motel that has been Family owned and operated since 1958. We are mostly known for our location, reliable customer service, friendly and informative staff and quiet and clean area. If you are traveling to Death Valley National Park, this motel is a must stop. Too hot? No worries, take a dip in our pool! With your immediate needs taken care of, rest assured this is the right place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Portal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Beatty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing