We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic motel for night rest”
Review of El Portal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Portal Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“basic motel for night rest”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We can't afford the resort inside Death Valley, so we book this motel for overnight rest.
Just a basic motel, with basic service. We book online for $45 per night, at this price I can't really ask for too much. The only issue I have is there is no coffee machine in room, but it does have microwave oven.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alohayao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    94
    42
    4
    5
See reviews for
38
97
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

At first glance the outside of this place looks pretty bad, however we stayed in the single story behind the original old building. Room was very large and clean. Carpet was stained and there was no coffee maker in the room. For the price not a bad deal. Would stay here again if back in Beatty

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 120
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mrtonothorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Hey, it was someplace to sleep! Not much to offer in Beatty!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-KRIM-FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Spent one night here after a long drive from San Francisco on our way to Death Valley. Made a reservation beforehand via their web site - our $49 room was huge with two comfortable queen beds, mini-fridge, microwave, and cable TV. Free wi-fi is also available.

The room was pretty tired looking but funky and with character at the same time. Since this hotel is a block off the highway it was really quiet at night. There is a great bar and a few dining options just a short walk up the street.

**Note - when driving in Beatty be sure to obey the speed limit and traffic laws. We saw two sheriff's vehicles (pick up trucks) pulling people over when we rolled into town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Clean bed linen and the location is the best you can say.

Very run down with a noisy aircon and that wonderful authentic dripping tap.

A little cheaper than super 8 but unless there is no room don't save your money.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toninoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

This motel is a great find. It is right at the entrance of Death Valley and certainly much cheaper than staying right within Death Valley. The owner was friendly and helpful. Our room was large with micro wave, refrigerator, TV and what appeared to be a newly remodeled bathroom. Although there are a couple of newer, more modern hotels down the road you can't beat the price here and the opportunity to support a local business. There is also a pool. There is a good restaurant right down the road.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarinet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

If you're looking for glitz and glamour, the El Portal is not for you - but if you are en route to Death Valley, this is the perfect place to stay and sensational value for money.

It looks, like the rest of Beatty, a bit run down, but the rooms are clean and functional and while it's not particularly modern, everything you need is there. The beds are super comfy, and we had an excellent night's sleep without interruption. You can wander into Beatty for dinner (though be aware that everything shuts at about 9pm, other than the saloon) - check out the chilli in the area as it's a real local favourite.

There was no one on the desk when we arrived at about 8pm - keys were left out for us, and we paid when we left. A level of trust we're not used to in other parts of the world! If you want basic, good quality accommodation close to Death Valley, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRFluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.4 mi away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#4 of 6 in Beatty
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atomic Inn
The Atomic Inn
#6 of 6 in Beatty
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
0.8 mi away
Stagecoach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Motel

Property: El Portal Motel
Address: 420 West Main St, Beatty, NV 89003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Motel is located in Beatty Nevada just outside Death Valley National Park (only 8 miles away) making it an ideal location to rest up from your daily adventures at the park. Located two blocks from Hwy 95 makes it easy to find and proves to have less traffic giving you a quiet and restful stay. Our Motel is a small cozy Motel that has been Family owned and operated since 1958. We are mostly known for our location, reliable customer service, friendly and informative staff and quiet and clean area. If you are traveling to Death Valley National Park, this motel is a must stop. Too hot? No worries, take a dip in our pool! With your immediate needs taken care of, rest assured this is the right place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Portal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Beatty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing