We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean. Cozy room near Death Valley”
Review of The Atomic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Atomic Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
london, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean. Cozy room near Death Valley”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

As part of a road trip around California and Nevada, we looked for an affordable place to stay near the Death Valley Park. We listened to the positive reviews and chose Atomic Inn. The lady at reception was so lovely and let us see and choose our room. The room was basic but clean and warm. Had everything we needed! We had a nice dinner at KC's Outpost nearby! Breakfast was limited but enough with a nice muffin!
The location is great! A nice drive into Death Valley Park. Don't miss Rhyolite - a ghost town on the 374 from Beatty to the park.
There are many DVDs at reception so bring a laptop to enjoy a movie night :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kerenush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    123
    74
    46
    56
See reviews for
71
162
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

it seems to be in the '60, with that unique and distinctive character, check out the pictures, the lamps and some pieces of furniture. Way better than the hotel chains that are in the neighbourhood. It is basic, clean and affordable, do not forget where you are! The location is good for visiting the death valley and having a night there.
I would go back there and recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank besyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I gave this place a 4 because most people want to compare hotels by certain standards, but I loved it's charm.. The room was clean, comfortable bed, adequate bathroom. We stayed 11-9-13 and it was a bit chilly at night, so the base board heater worked fine. Mini fridge & micro wave in the room. No one will confuse this place withe Ritz or Four Seasons, but I loved this place for the funky pleasure. We stayed here after a day in Death Valley & Beatty is about a 25-30 mile drive from the heart of Furnace Creek. Beatty has about 5 motels, and you could stay at the $6 budget chain, but it will be like any of the 1000 in the chain. Or stay here for the charm & a story to tell.
Atomic Inn has minimalistic desert landscaping, and two plywood "aliens" painted red & green with a de-activated (I hope) missile stuck in the ground. The funkiness continues with a model spaceship / flying saucer on the 50's style table in the lobby. (Area 51 is down the road a piece) The room was neat with what looked like 1930 art deco furniture, but was probably circa 50s or 60's. The walls were recently painted in alien green. There was a framed picture of a Russian space movie on one wall, and a B52 bomber on another. The bathroom had a framed beer ad from the 50s. Cool. Look at other reviewers photos to see the photos,
The room had a flat screen TV with a side mounted built in DVD player.. There are older DVDs in the lobby you can borrow free for the night (we watched Blazing Saddles). The WiFi worked great for 2 hours, then I had trouble re-connecting.
Read their website for the motel's environmental green program. They are small, but are trying, and we had a memorable stay. The continental "breakfast" is minimal - coffee in a paper cup, and a cellafane wrapped muffin. But they are $10 to $15 less than the other motels in town, so we opted for breakfast at a local restaurant. Kinda like a room & full breakfast for the same price.
Be sure to visit Rhyolite ghost town and the Goldwell Open Air Art Museum about 4 miles down the road, and check out Beatty while you're there.
This is not a lavish palace for your honeymoon, but we are in our 60s and enjoyed it for what it is. Places like this remind me of small funky motels on old Route 66. They are disappearing from America's roadways. Give them a try, you might like it too.

Room Tip: Go the extra $5 or so, and get one of the recently remodeled rooms, they are a bit nicer and you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackmack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed there for two nights. very cheap. They call a muffin and a cup of coffee as a continental breakfast. Bed was like a rock, which is not comfortable. we could not find much restaurants near to the place. If I happen to visit death valley once again , I will not stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Booked this "joint" because it presented itself online as a funky desert motel. The only cute thing about it is the couple of figurines out the front. Might have been a military barracks or the like in a previous life .... today it's just plain bad.

The "free internet" is free all right, but only very close to the managers office, and only when he's not using it, or has remembered to turn it on!

Not all units have phones, mine had three light bulbs out. The sealant around bathroom fittings etc was all moldy - it's dirty, scruffy and just plain bad. The only positive - it's cheap.

There's other options in this cute little town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beatty hotels

brisbane, australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

You come to Beatty to visit Death Valley and surrounds. Let's be frank, there's not really much other reason to come. So you might as well go to the Atomic Inn for the great 50s sci-fi inspired decor - the pink and green aliens out front are a treat and the atomic-themed pictures inside are great also.

As for the hotel, well it's pretty basic. Clean and comfortable enough. The "continental breakfast" is not great, let's be frank. As a place to stay while touring the amazing DV area, it does the trick and offers great photo opportunities.

Room Tip: Not so much a room tip, but while in Beatty, wandering up the road a short distance to the beer and...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank read_my_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

we did'nt like this room.seedy motel to avoid unless you have no choice. it is not expensive but not worth more here. I would not recommend this motel. Breakfast is reduced to a minimum. there is still a microwave in the room, it can be useful. the bed is not comfortable. cert is not expensive, it was worth the money.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.3 mi away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Beatty
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Portal Motel
El Portal Motel
#1 of 6 in Beatty
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atomic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atomic Inn

Property: The Atomic Inn
Address: 350 South First Street, Beatty, NV 89003 (Formerly the Phoenix Inn)
Location: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Atomic Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atomic Inn is a newly remodeled retro-themed motel located only 6 miles from the Death Valley National Park entrance. All rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Many rooms now have flat screen televisions and DVD players. NEW - Now the only motel in the area with dial from your room room service - order some popcorn and root beer to go along with your movie. NEW - DVD rentals and popular board games available for check out at the front desk! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atomic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atomic Hotel Beatty
The Phoenix Hotel Atomic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing