We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old-fashioned but lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Atomic Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Atomic Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned but lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This isn't a flashy hotel or a chain motel, so you're not going to get lots of 5star extras. Provided you're OK with that, you might just love this place like we did when we stayed here for 2 nights in August. The town of Beatty is like something from a road movie - mountains at the end of the street, Area 51 just down the road, a night sky with a million stars, a Dennys with a lovely wise-cracking waitress, a Chamber of Commerce that looks like a bus shelter, donkeys roaming the town centre, Death Valley a few miles away, and most bizarre of all, a brothel with its own airfield just outside of town. The Atomic is near the edge of town but it's still only 2 minutes walk to the main crossroads. And the people are the friendliest and most laid-back you could hope to meet. So, full marks for the warm welcome, the peaceful setting ('quiet backwater' doesn't do it justice) and the convenient location. The drawbacks are the unambitious breakfast, the rather old fashioned furniture and decor, and the lack of amenities like swimming pool and outside seating area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpongeBob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    117
    67
    46
    56
See reviews for
68
159
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Would stay again. Its central location made it perfect for us we could walk to all resturants in town. Also the local casino. Being gateway to Death Valley made going there easy for us. Looking forward to going back this spring to stay there again on our next trip to Death Valley. Location, location, location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The newly-refurbished rooms are more than adequate, although ours did have a few flaws: a stain on the chair, no rack for wet bath towels (we used the doors on the armoire), and connecting to the Wi-Fi took some figuring-out. We were first given one of the older rooms with an air conditioner that produced only slightly cool air (It was over 100 degrees during the day), a fan in the bathroom that sounded like it was about to break, threadbare carpet, drapes that did not completely cover the window, and dark paneled walls that made the room seem like a cave. We were switched to a newer room. If not for this, I would have welcomed an alien abduction to escape the depressing and unacceptable environment!

Room Tip: The rooms in front near the street have been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hepatica_43402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to vegas. The bed sheets were covered in dog hair. Air con worked fine. The television had poor signal, so was flickering. The wifi was non existant - receptionist had no idea why the password she gave us was wrong. The room was £40ish for the night we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjjausatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beatty hotels

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

As the title suggest it was suitable for an over night stay but may have been less so fo a longer stay. It was er hot an the aircon was not all that efficient so it was a bit uncomfortable a night tho it had been over 110 degs during the day. Breakfast was basic and the coffee was on tap. All in all wort a stay just for the look of the place.

Room Tip: Try and get one on the road it's quite enough and the look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a stopover between Death Valley and Las Vegas as recommended by a friend. I also checked reviews and they sounded ok so I figured it would be charming.

It wasn't charming. The room was tiny and it smelled like cigarettes and mold. The walls were super thin and there was no chain lock for the door. The motel was in the middle of a trailer park and there was garbage everywhere. The bed was uncomfortable and the sheets and blankets were scratchy. The sink and tub were clogged.

On the good side it was close to Death Valley, the AC worked, and the service was fine.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sillymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We only paid $50 plus tax a night at this motel and it had good and bad points. I liked it's quirkyness and it was cheap and clean. The downside was the breakfast, and the pillows (just one each) were thin and the mattress a little hard and uncomfortable. It was a bit hot and we tried the air con, but it was too much of a racket to bear, so we went without.....this would be a problem later in the year when temps rise. Another thing was that we were only provided with hand towels ......no bath sized towels. They also don't see to your room between two nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.3 mi away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#4 of 6 in Beatty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
0.1 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Portal Motel
El Portal Motel
#1 of 6 in Beatty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
27.9 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atomic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atomic Inn

Property: The Atomic Inn
Address: 350 South First Street, Beatty, NV 89003 (Formerly the Phoenix Inn)
Location: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Atomic Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atomic Inn is a newly remodeled retro-themed motel located only 6 miles from the Death Valley National Park entrance. All rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Many rooms now have flat screen televisions and DVD players. NEW - Now the only motel in the area with dial from your room room service - order some popcorn and root beer to go along with your movie. NEW - DVD rentals and popular board games available for check out at the front desk! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Atomic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atomic Hotel Beatty
The Phoenix Hotel Atomic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing