We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room very nice and updated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Palmer Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York
Reviewed August 20, 2013

After reading some of the bad reviews of this motel on the outskirts of York, Nebraska, I decided to give it a try. Especially after reading the terrible reviews of the motels closer down the road near the interstate.

We made our reservation online and had no problems. When we arrived, the motel clerk told us about the motel's amenities and then proceeded to inform us of the best place to eat in town.

The room was an updated room. I had asked the clerk which rooms had been updated but he was not sure how many of the 40 or so rooms were renovated but that the rooms which were on the north wing of the building had been renovated recently.

Our room was just steps away from our car. Just like the old motor inns from yesteryear. The room had two nice sized queen beds which were very comfortable, and they were raised off the floor several inches higher than most motels. There was a large television armoire with a good sized tv inside. They had 52 channels to choose from. Not too bad considering where York is. There was a large desk where we set up our laptop. After initially failing to get on the internet through wireless, we went to the front desk and they gave us an ethernet cable. After that we had no problems at all.

The bath was very nice. A separate compartment housed the toilet and tub. Brand new tiles in the tub area looked like they had recently been installed. On the tub wall and next to the sink, there were wall mounted dispensers already filled with soap and shampoo (in the tub/shower area) and soap and lotion next to the sink. I don't know why more motels don't do this. I would think this would save a lot of time and money, instead of having to purchase all of those individual soap, shampoo and lotion packets.

The room had a larger frig, microwave, and coffee maker. There was a hair dryer next to the sink as well as an iron in the closet. The beds were very comfy and we had no problem getting the room cooled with the wall mounted A/C unit.

The next morning we had breakfast in their breakfast area next to the main office. They had cereals, muffins, bread, bananas, waffles, and biscuits with hot gravy. Very nice set up. A little crowded, but we managed fine. We had fun speaking with a group of Germans visiting the states as well as a lady from Canada. We had the biscuits and gravy and the waffles. Very easy to prepare.

Before departing we met two other ladies out walking their dogs. Just a very pleasant experience at the Palmer Inn. The clerk gave us the name of a restaurant in town that serves the best meals. That place is called Chances 'R Restaurant and Lounge. We had some of the best sirloin we have ever had.

As far as some of the negative reviews of the Palmer Inn, I have to say that without a doubt this was one of the nicer local motels I have ever stayed at. Very clean, and modern, at least as far as the room we stayed in. Its a very quiet inn, even though you are only a few yards away from US Route 81. I can understand if you paid $70 to $80 and got one of the older rooms, and felt disappointed, but I saw one of those rooms the next morning, and guess what? Yes, it was dated, but it was clean and had a very nice "old" charm to the room. Eventually the owners are going to get all of the rooms remodeled or renovated, so give them a break.

We plan on staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words and giving us a chance, we are glad you found our little motel a great place to stay. We hope to see you again if you travel through our area.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 151 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in August. Had looked at reviews for the Palmer Inn, and decided to stay there. Glad we did! Our 2 Queen room was spotless. Location is quiet, and even with people enjoying the gazebo and grills each night - we never heard them. My family commented that this was the quietest room we had ever stayed in. The pool area is gorgeous, fenced, and clean. The free breakfast was good - Cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, bananas and peanut butter if you need something for the road. The beds were extremely comfortable. The staff was very willing to help with any questions we had. We will stay here again on future trips to York.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeWain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We here at the America's Best Value Inn/ Palmer Inn appreciate the opportunity to serve you. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future on your trip through our area.
Thank You,
Betty Hatfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The subject says all.
In my opinion a motel need has only one task to accomplish. to grant you a nice rest after hours driving. A place to have a shower, maybe a breakfast. Nothing else.

This Motel gives you all of the above at a very nice price ( 70-ish tax inclued for 2 people in a double queen bed ).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cagliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We here at the America's Best Value Inn/Palmer Inn appreciate your patronage. We are pleased you found everything you were looking for. We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again if you are ever in our area.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

For the price charged, it was a disappointment. Although they started to renovate the bathrooms, they have a long way to go to make this a good motel to stay at. The breakfast was OK. Owners were friendly, but the place needs an update badly.

Room Tip: avoid until it is remodeled completely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRANCIS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We here at the America's Best Value Inn/ Palmer Inn appreciate your patronage. Maybe we will get the opportunity to serve you again if you are in town.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Saw the reviews on Tripadvisor so tried this place. Not as good as we would hope. Very dated, while clean it was a little, oh I don't know - - a little creepy.? Saved a couple of bucks by staying here, but would not do it again. Breakfast was OK.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We at America's Best Value Inn/ Palmer Inn hope we met some of the needs you were searching for. We are pleased we got the chance to show you what we had to offer.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

check in was great, quick and easy. the woman at the front desk was very friendly and down home. the king room was large and comfortable with micro-fridge, recliner, writing desk and coffee maker. i'm glad i stopped!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We are also glad you stopped in. We are pleased that you found everything you were looking for. We here at ABVI/ Palmer Inn are glad you gave us a try and look forward to seeing you again if you are in our area.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Travelling to Colorado with dog - felt York would be a good "halfway" point that would also allow pets. Due to summer road construction - we arrived about 2 hours later than we expected...we were greeted by a friendly gentleman (Dave?) who was very attentive to all our questions/needs. Nice to have such a positive experience late at night after a longer-than-expected drive. He directed us to our end room (outside...not "hallway") where we were able to park RIGHT by our door. This made for a higher sense of security since we were transporting more than the usual luggage and belongings in our car and felt safe leaving them in the car overnight (we would easily be able to hear car alarm during the night). The field to walk the dog was very close as well. Wi-Fi in the room worked perfectly. The breakfast was adequate - not excellent or good...but, adequate. All areas (front desk, breakfast room, our room) ARE "old" as described by other reviewers...but, the cleanliness and friendliness far outweigh any negatives - and the bedding (sheets, pillows, bedspreads) and bathroom in our room were VERY clean and fresh. We would DEFINITELY stay here again and recommend it to other people travelling with pets. The pet fee, at $10, is very reasonable compared to what some other hotels/motels are charging now. Also...I booked online through hotels.com and got an EXCELLENT rate for the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We here at the America's Best Value Palmer Inn are pleased that you found your way to us on your trip. We are glad we could give you the security and pleasant stay you were looking for. We hope to see you again on your travels through our area.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites York
0.9 mi away
Days Inn York
Days Inn York
#6 of 9 in York
280 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus York Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 York
Motel 6 York
#7 of 9 in York
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn York
Hampton Inn York
#2 of 9 in York
323 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 9 in York
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Palmer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Palmer Inn

Address: 2426 S Lincoln Ave, York, NE 68467-9478 (Formerly Palmer Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York
Price Range: $60 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Palmer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Palmer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing