We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but very dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Palmer Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Saw the reviews on Tripadvisor so tried this place. Not as good as we would hope. Very dated, while clean it was a little, oh I don't know - - a little creepy.? Saved a couple of bucks by staying here, but would not do it again. Breakfast was OK.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We at America's Best Value Inn/ Palmer Inn hope we met some of the needs you were searching for. We are pleased we got the chance to show you what we had to offer.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 151 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

check in was great, quick and easy. the woman at the front desk was very friendly and down home. the king room was large and comfortable with micro-fridge, recliner, writing desk and coffee maker. i'm glad i stopped!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We are also glad you stopped in. We are pleased that you found everything you were looking for. We here at ABVI/ Palmer Inn are glad you gave us a try and look forward to seeing you again if you are in our area.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Travelling to Colorado with dog - felt York would be a good "halfway" point that would also allow pets. Due to summer road construction - we arrived about 2 hours later than we expected...we were greeted by a friendly gentleman (Dave?) who was very attentive to all our questions/needs. Nice to have such a positive experience late at night after a longer-than-expected drive. He directed us to our end room (outside...not "hallway") where we were able to park RIGHT by our door. This made for a higher sense of security since we were transporting more than the usual luggage and belongings in our car and felt safe leaving them in the car overnight (we would easily be able to hear car alarm during the night). The field to walk the dog was very close as well. Wi-Fi in the room worked perfectly. The breakfast was adequate - not excellent or good...but, adequate. All areas (front desk, breakfast room, our room) ARE "old" as described by other reviewers...but, the cleanliness and friendliness far outweigh any negatives - and the bedding (sheets, pillows, bedspreads) and bathroom in our room were VERY clean and fresh. We would DEFINITELY stay here again and recommend it to other people travelling with pets. The pet fee, at $10, is very reasonable compared to what some other hotels/motels are charging now. Also...I booked online through hotels.com and got an EXCELLENT rate for the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We here at the America's Best Value Palmer Inn are pleased that you found your way to us on your trip. We are glad we could give you the security and pleasant stay you were looking for. We hope to see you again on your travels through our area.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This motel was a pleasant surprise. It was a little pricier than we had hoped, but lower than the bigger chains at this highway exit. Although the building is older and the front office smells smokey, the rooms are nice and don't smell. They are clean with newer mattresses and bedding and have good water pressure in the showers. The breakfast was decent with biscuits and gravy, delicious cinnamon rolls, cold cereal and a waffle maker. They have an outdoor pool that looked nice, but we did not try it. It is a little further off the highway than the other places, but not way off. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Owner at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing our Americas Best Value Inn. Glad we had the opportunity to meet you during your travels.
Looking forward to seeing you again.

Jane Loeffler
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here while attending a friend's daughter's wedding! Old style Motel with parking right in fron of your room. Great scenery and very friendly staff! If you're looking for a place that's cozy, friendly and not in the congested part of town, this is the place to be! Dave was great and had several stories about cars and restoration!

Room Tip: Take a dip in the pool and enjoy the scenery provided by the Nebraska landscape!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kings_on_the_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Owner at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for the kind words about your stay. We are glad you found us and we look forward to seeing you again during your travels.

Jane Loeffler
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Palmer Inn in York, NE two times this year: once in March and once in May. Both times were amazingly quiet and the rooms were ultra clean. Rates were very reasonable, also. They offer breakfast, but, also, offer a 15% discount on meals at a family restaurant close by.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mms54805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

We here at the America's Best Value Inn / Palmer Inn appreicate your continued patronage. We were very pleased with the very kind words you had about our establishment. We are looking forward to seeing you again on your trips through our town.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

we really enjoyed ourself. room was clean and updated and really comfortable. fridge and microwave in room. breakfast was good. biscuits and gravy, and husband said they were great. waffles and other stuff. staff really helpful and friendly. family owned and you can tell the owner cares.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We appreciate your kind words about our establishment. We hope to see you again on your trips through our area. Our owner's are very hands on and it makes for a wonderful working atmosphere, as an employee I am very blessed to have such wonderful people to work for, I am also very glad that our commitment shows.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus York Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites York
0.8 mi away
Days Inn York
Days Inn York
#6 of 9 in York
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 York
Motel 6 York
#7 of 9 in York
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn York
Hampton Inn York
#2 of 9 in York
320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Palmer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Palmer Inn

Address: 2426 S Lincoln Ave, York, NE 68467-9478 (Formerly Palmer Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in York
Price Range: $60 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Palmer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Palmer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing