We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both of us loved 'Chances R'”
Review of Chances R

Chances R
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Missoula, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Both of us loved 'Chances R'”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

'Chances R' restaurant in York, NE was a standout at a reasonable price. We loved the ambiance and most of the food was home cooked; except the Nebraska beef! I had a small 6 oz sirloin which was a great cut and mouth-watering. Even salad dressing is home-made! At the end of a long day's drive, 'Chances R' is a must choice that is visited by locals; a sure sign for me that if the locals visit: IT HAS TO BE GOOD!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    87
    39
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best sirloin I have had in years!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a great little restaurant in downtown York, a few miles north of Interstate 80. The location is easy to find, and you can park for free right outside of the building. The wait staff is very friendly and the service was good. We both had sirloin steaks with baked potatos. Excellent steaks, probably the best sirloin I have ever had. They had a nice selection of deserts as well. Just a really nice place to eat after a long days driving.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Nebraska, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome prime rib”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

In town for work, stopped by and was more than impressed by the atmosphere, service, and food. Me and my co-worker both ordered the prime rib, it was so tender and cooked to order . The price was decent as well, it's hard to find prime rib for $18.
We're back in town again is week and we will be returning for another round !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A little off the beaten path and downtown away from the chains.
Well worth seeking out.
I was there on last Friday night and decided to try the prime rib.
Not many things I like better than good prime rib. Not many things I like less than prime rib that isn't good.
I won't say it was the best I've ever had but it was close.
Great staff.
Great atmosphere.
I will be back when in the area.
Highly recommend it

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harper1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Tasty steak”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We had the t-bone and small sirloin and they were both very good. Meal comes with soup or salad, potato (mashed, baked, fries) and bread. The salad dressings are homemade and very good. Although we didn't get dessert they looked good as well. Our waitress was very good and so was the water server.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katebrymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chances R also viewed

 

Been to Chances R? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing