We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prime Rib is the answer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chances R

Chances R
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Prime Rib is the answer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Went here last night, joined a couple of guys but got there late. They ordered for me (Pan Fried Chicken, had come highly recommended) so never saw the menu. The meal was OK I guess. Now a second night in York, and not a lot of things to chhose from. Wendys has five stars, so there just is not that much going on. Hear about Kerrys, and the Kitchen. But I kept coming back to this place. It's not connected to a truck stop, so that's a plus. It also has a lot of reviews. Some great some - ah, Ok. Browse through the reviews and it seems people who rate it low all had the chicken, but everone who had the Prime Rib said it was great! So I go back, had a look at the menu. Nice selection. Ask the waitress about 'what the best...'? Chicken or Prime Rib. Get the small Prime Rib (glad for that - I actually left food which I don't normally do) and it was very, very good. Comes on a plate swimming in au jus, and the mushroom topping is very complimentary. Had them lug the dessert try, and they all looked spectacular. So if you go, even not on all-you-can-eat-prime-rib night: get the Prime Rib.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDK-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    79
    35
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Monday Night Mexican menu is great. The prime rib is sooo good. They bend over backward to meet your requests.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Timmo970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Drive out of your way to eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I've been a regular at this wonderful restaurant in this tiny little town for years. It would be number one restaurant in much larger cities--Washington, DC, Denver, etc. Don't pass up the prime rib. It was a 16 oz.special when I ate there in August 2012 for the eye-popping price of $16.95! It would have been just as delicious for three times that price. I love this place

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank velho2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Prime Rib Buffet Night - - Holy Cow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I've enjoyed prime rib all over the country. I never thought I would find the best prime rib I've ever eaten in York, Nebraska!!! Cooked perfectly, tender and full of delicious beef flavor! Everything on the buffet was homemade with care, presented beautifully and tasted delicious. If you are in central Nebraska on a Saturday night don't miss the prime rib buffet. It is amazing!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mengerFcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have been to this restaurant time and time again while visiting family....it just keeps getting worse and worse. Don't waste your money. The Applebee's in town has better food and they are a chain. The fried chicken, which used to be a specialty is now terrible, the onion rings also had the same fate. The ribs used to be awesome, we got them last time and chunks of meet with bone came out, not like any ribs I have ever seen. Even the French dip was lacking. The only plus is the homeade dressings for the salads. Overall save your money and go somewhere else. Service is also really slow and food quality is bad. Rewind 10 years ago and go then....it was awesome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chances R? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing