We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful sanctuary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalqueich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalqueich Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Dalqueich B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here last June for a 1 night stop over on our way to Gardenstown on the Moray coast. You can believe everything that has been posted about this lovely house and couple. We arrived after a stressful week at work and immediately we were able to relax. Helen had cooked us a lovely meal - duck - which we shared with a German couple who were also staying. The room was gorgeous, the gardens beautiful and the breakfast fantastic, especially the haddock rarebit. Before we left Bob gave us advice on the best routes north and ran off a weather forecast which was a lovely touch. We were able to visit the tiny island on Loch Levan where Mary Queen of Scots was imprisoned - highly recommended - before heading north for a great week of walking, bird watching and family history research, but that's another story. Apologies Helen and Bob that I didn't post sooner. I'm obviously stressed and need a whole weekend at Dalqueich some time soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thanks for the review and all the kind words- brightened up a rather blustery and snowy day here (as you can see from the last blog entry we’ve had some snow over the last week or so, as has most of Britain).
Today we were trying to put up a new duck house (just new friends Indian runners, so comical looking, we don’t eat our pets!), but it’s just too windy.
Loch Leven and the castle are both very popular-we went over in October- calm, sunny and we had a lovely picnic (photos on blog).
Hope you can get back here, we think you would just love Falkland Palace and gardens - another place Mary Queen of Scots visited. Kind regards to you both. Helen & Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Dalqueich Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 88 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our brief stay at Helen and Bob's was definitely our favorite place in our two week trip to Scotland. They both love being hosts, and went far above making us feel welcome and taken care of. T'is an experience unable to put into words, but must be felt for oneself. With their help and research (down to printing out the weather forcast), they helped make it possible for my husband to play at a course in St Andrews on his 50th birthday, which was the focal point of our destination!. Their home originates back to the 1700's (or older?), and the addition allows for beautiful and comfortable accommodations for guests. As mentioned by other guests, Helen and Bob's genuine friendliness, and the absolutely amazing breakfast have left us with the fondest memories of our trip. Everything is homemade, the fruit spectacular, fresh, fresh everything. Mmmm, getting hungry writing about it! We hope to travel again, and if we are in Scotland again, we would book ahead to stay with Helen and Bob. They are close enough for Edinburgh area sightseeing and airport connections. Also close to St Andrews, the Home of Golf, a must-do for every golf enthusiast. A very heartfelt Thank-You to Helen and Bob, from Bob and Sandy (Edmonton, Alberta). Our stay was, if I may use one of Helen's phrases, "Magic"!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for the review which really helped brighten a wet, drizzly day here!
It was a pleasure to help organise the St Andrew's golf for Bob; it's such a nice historic town as well.
We really enjoyed your stay and have memories of the fun and laughter-it was nice to help celebrate a special day.
Hoping you can make it over here again.
Kind regards,
Helen & Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

we wanted some were to stay whilst visiting family in fife but didnt want them falling out because we stayed with one and not the other enough of that get the picture

RIGHT Daiqueich farmhouse
in life you pay your money and makes your choice and all though they say quaint little farm house ,nice views , good food ect ect theres alway the let down when you arrive .i take people at face value and have worked in retail all my life and can honestly say im a good judge of people and places ive been have never lived upto my expectations .

Well im happy to say Helen & Bob Pass are two those people who leave a memory on your lifeline as you go through life michelle and i think they are so nice that we would call them friends and this was after a three day stay as in all the other reviews people tell you about the breakfast and this is true full scottish three time eggs,sausage,blackpudding, haggis,mushrooms,and then theres the jams n maralades fresh home made bread and whiskey marmalade (thanks BOB) hes a good cook. and its the little thoughts that count a knock on the door and there helen with her weeflask of fresh milk so you can have a cup of tea at night if you wanted and there knowledge of fife is second to none and woud we come back and stay YOU BET WE WOULD .

Room Tip: sit at night in the lounge in the front of a open fire and see if you can here anything its that qui...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it gave you the opportunity to have a relaxing time with your family.

We enjoy cooking and think the little detail can be so important - any suggestions as to how we can improve are always welcome.

Best wishes,
Helen & Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Dalqueich Farmhouse was by far the most wonderful experience we have ever had at a B&B. The house is set in a wooded area and is great for exploring and birdwatching. There were numerous feeders in the yard that attracted many varieties of birds. The house is cozy and filled with interesting collectables and books. The two bedrooms they provide are a rather new addition to the house, parts of which date back to 1700. The bedrooms are very comfortable with ensuites. Tea was served when we came back from dinner in a lovely sitting room complete with a cozy fire. But the best was when we walked into the dining room in the morning, A warm room greeted us with a fire glowing and a beautifully laid table. A side table provided fresh raspberries, strawberries, blackberries, a homemade berry compote, yogurt swirled with raspberry, and poached pears with anise. The breads are all homemade and served with homemade jams and jellies. English or Scottish breakfasts come with eggs from their own chickens, (The rooster woke me at daybreak!) and smoked haddock or salmon. I will never forget my time here. Thank you Helen and Bob....you are the best of Scotland!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hi Evessa,
Thank you for the kind and generous review; which is very much appreciated.
We try to give guests traditional Scottish hospitality and it's so good to know that you enjoyed your stay here.

If you ever want information or help in organising a visit to the UK do please just let us know.

We hope to see you again.
Best wishes,
Helen & Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We simply loved our stay at Dalqueich Farmhouse, a really beautiful and peaceful house.
The rooms, the breakfast room and the lounge are beautifully furnished and very cosy.
Breakfast was absolutely amazing - one of the most delicious breakfasts we ever had (e.g. fresh fruit, home-made rhubarb compote, yoghurt, cereal, full Scottish breakfast, smoked salmon, ham and cheese, eggs, oatcakes, ...). We especially recommend the delicious home-baked bread and the home-made jelly (the rosehip and rhubarb jelly was fantastic)!
We were also delighted to be offered a Whisky tasting with Bob in the evening.
Helen and Bob really made us feel welcome and at home. They are very kind and friendly hosts.
Dalqueich B&B is a great place to stay as a base for exploring Fife and you can reach Edinburgh Airport in about 30 minutes.
Interesting places to visit are for example Falkland Palace and gardens, Loch Leven or Scone Palace.
This was our third amazing stay and we will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie_Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Hi Annie,
Thanks for the great review, so glad you enjoy your visits to Scotland.

I also enjoyed the whisky tasting with the lovely Edradour Malt Whisky that you brought from your distillery visit (Scotland's smallest distillery- floral and fruity malt) and contrasted it with some of our, really different, Caol Ila (from Islay- smokey, notes of salt spray, seaweed and the sea). Nice end to the day.

Slàinte maith, h-uile latha, na chi 'snach fhaic!
(Good health, every day, whether I see you or not!)

Prost!

Helen & Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in early September, once on the way up, once on the way down. We chose Dalqueich on the basis of the wonderful Tripadvisor reviews - and they are all true. We were made very welcome, we were very comfortable, and we had the most generous and delicious breakfasts we have ever had. We still dream about them! The day we arrived we mentioned that we had brought some food for a picnic dinner and Helen immediately set up a picnic table by the river with a table cloth and complimentary pear juice. Now trying to think of a reason to go back to Scotland so we can stay there again. Don't look any further, if you are looking for a B&B even vaguely in this area Dalqueich is where you need to be! And as for Bertie - adorable! (and only allowed to 'chat' with us when we said we loved dogs - there'll be no problems if you don't want to meet him I guess)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

What a lovely review-thanks.
Bertie is, again, on the latest blog entry on our website, watching us make rosehip, rowan and hawthorn jellies. He enjoyed the walks when we went out picking the hips and haws.
We've had a wonderful autumn and, on a glorious sunny, calm day we took a picnic with us on the boat to Loch Leven castle, it's been a while since we went across and we really enjoyed it.
We'd love to see you again.
Kind regards,
Helen, Bob & Bertie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Helen and Bob are the most wonderful hosts. Everything seems to flow so gently and smoothly and the level of care is remarkable.
We both feel as if we've spent time akin to being on a retreat whenever we go.
This is the third time we've visited in under twelve months and I'm already thinking about the next possibility...........
Bertie, the most adorable Bertie, will steal your heart, even if you aren't usually much of a 'doggy person'.
If you haven't been to Stirling Castle, or maybe not recently, it is marvellous, and has recently had a multi-million pound improvement. Many worthwhile excursions can be made from Dalqueich, with a car time of 30 - 60 minutes.
We feel wrapped in a comfort blanket from the moment we step in through the door.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marylyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hi MaryLyn,
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
We're missing Bertie just now as he's off on walking and camping adventures in the Cairngorms again with Sophie, while we've been making hedgerow jellies (Highland Rowan & Thyme and Rosehip with home-made rhubarb liqueur). Maybe we should rename the blog on our website "Berties' blog" as he seems to get his picture on almost every entry!
Our very best wishes to you and Chris.
Helen & Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalqueich
0.0 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
0.0 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burnbank Kinross
Burnbank Kinross
#1 of 10 in Kinross
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelson Lodge
Kelson Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kinross
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalqueich Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalqueich Farmhouse

Address: Bridge House Dalqueich Dalqueich FARM | Kinross, Dalqueich, Kinross KY13 0RG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross > Dalqueich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalqueich
Price Range: $43 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalqueich Farmhouse is a restored traditional farmhouse in a lovely rural setting, yet convenient for motorway and airport. Accommodation is spacious and of a high quality. Guests have the use of a sitting room (where they can learn about Scotch whisky from an expert!) And the conservatory (winter garden) and eat in the elegant dining room (home-made bread and prize winning marmalades feature). Two rooms are available, an en-suite family room with a double and a single bed and a double room with king size bed and adjoining private shower-room. Set in spacious gardens it is a wildlife paradise with red squirrels, and kingfishers amongst its visitors. Wild deer are commonly seen as are a wide range of birds - both native and migrating. Walking, cycling, and golf can all be enjoyed locally and the Loch Leven Heritage trail has become immensely popular. A great place for touring, with Edinburgh, Perth, Stirling and Glasgow and the beautiful Fife coast and the Highlands all within easy reach (as well as malt distilleries!). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing