We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So comfortable, so delicious”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalqueich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalqueich Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Dalqueich B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So comfortable, so delicious”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in early September, once on the way up, once on the way down. We chose Dalqueich on the basis of the wonderful Tripadvisor reviews - and they are all true. We were made very welcome, we were very comfortable, and we had the most generous and delicious breakfasts we have ever had. We still dream about them! The day we arrived we mentioned that we had brought some food for a picnic dinner and Helen immediately set up a picnic table by the river with a table cloth and complimentary pear juice. Now trying to think of a reason to go back to Scotland so we can stay there again. Don't look any further, if you are looking for a B&B even vaguely in this area Dalqueich is where you need to be! And as for Bertie - adorable! (and only allowed to 'chat' with us when we said we loved dogs - there'll be no problems if you don't want to meet him I guess)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
What a lovely review-thanks.
Bertie is, again, on the latest blog entry on our website, watching us make rosehip, rowan and hawthorn jellies. He enjoyed the walks when we went out picking the hips and haws.
We've had a wonderful autumn and, on a glorious sunny, calm day we took a picnic with us on the boat to Loch Leven castle, it's been a while since we went across and we really enjoyed it.
We'd love to see you again.
Kind regards,
Helen, Bob & Bertie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
49
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Helen and Bob are the most wonderful hosts. Everything seems to flow so gently and smoothly and the level of care is remarkable.
We both feel as if we've spent time akin to being on a retreat whenever we go.
This is the third time we've visited in under twelve months and I'm already thinking about the next possibility...........
Bertie, the most adorable Bertie, will steal your heart, even if you aren't usually much of a 'doggy person'.
If you haven't been to Stirling Castle, or maybe not recently, it is marvellous, and has recently had a multi-million pound improvement. Many worthwhile excursions can be made from Dalqueich, with a car time of 30 - 60 minutes.
We feel wrapped in a comfort blanket from the moment we step in through the door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Hi MaryLyn,
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
We're missing Bertie just now as he's off on walking and camping adventures in the Cairngorms again with Sophie, while we've been making hedgerow jellies (Highland Rowan & Thyme and Rosehip with home-made rhubarb liqueur). Maybe we should rename the blog on our website "Berties' blog" as he seems to get his picture on almost every entry!
Our very best wishes to you and Chris.
Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

If I try, its hard to recall a handfull of places that have provided me a quality 'proper' bed and breakfast experience.
For me, there is a combination of necessary elements that make up an excellent B&B experience. The basics are warmth, of Hosts, beds and rooms, a great setting, excellent food, and character. Dalqueich has all these. Take breakfast, often a perfunctory ritual, here it is elevated to a whole different plane of experience. I had to smile to myself when Bob asked me if there was anything else I needed sat, as I was, surrounded by a cornucopia of top quality home made breads, fruit and provisions, a warm plate of finest full scottish, a steaming china pot of tea, in my pyjamas, in front of a crackling log fire! Thats a pretty good place to be for a lone traveller on a damp Sunday morning in September.
The hospitality industry is deceptively alluring, many try, but to be done properly art and skills few of us possess are required - and of course there's the hard work. The trick is that the best places like Dalqueiach make it all look effortless and natural. Thanks Helen, the Cashmere scarves are currently half price at Leven Larder.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for the great review.
We have common interests in old buildings and the course at Limekilns on traditional building techniques sounded fascinating.
If you come back it's probably worth taking the time to visit local antique centres and go to some local auction sales as there are some good bargains to be had just now.
We love to see you again and hopefully with your partner next time.
Kind regards
Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hello,
Very well B&B. Good welcome. Very good Breakfast with scotish specialities (black pudding). I tested 2 whiskies (Royal Lochnagar and Talisker).The best B&B that I did in Scotland.
By
Arnaud (Lille-FRANCE)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nono-Lille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi Arnaud,
Glad that you enjoyed the little "Taste of Scotland". The black pudding is from the Orkney Isles and we think it's the best- it wins lots of awards.

As for the whisky, the two are good representatives of a peated, island malt (Talisker on Skye) and a fruity Speyside malt, enjoyed by our Royal Family and from the distillery next to Balmoral Castle.

We enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you again, if you come back to Scotland.

Kind regards,
Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

only stayed the one night but had a great time there and wished we had been staying longer. Ive never had such a warm welcome when staying somewhere. Bob and Helen are lovely warm people who made us feel welcome from the minute we got there till the time we left. The room was lovely,cosy and very clean. The breakfast was delicious the next morning and actually struggled to eat everything but very much enjoyed the delightful home made bread and jam and hope to attempt the recipe myself. We both felt very spoilt while there and were pleased as bikers to feel so welcome there. We hope to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi Cheryl,
Thank you for the lovely review, we really enjoyed your company and wish you could have stayed longer.
Hope the raspberry jam making goes OK ; we just made another lot as it's so popular and despite the wet weather it has set pretty well, so you shouldn't have any problems.

"Haste ye back"

Kind regards,
Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creetown, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We can honestly say this is the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in. The house is lovely and the bed room was really comfortable, we had a lovely evening curled up on the big living room sofas surrounded by beautiful objects and a huge choice of books. Then came the breakfast free range eggs, home-made bread, marmalades and jams all served up in a gorgeous dining room with great music in the background. We were supposed to be rushing off to Knockhill but it was all to good and we just couldn't rush. Helen and Bob were warm and friendly we left feeling very spoilt, thank you both.

Room Tip: A lovely B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkirkma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for your review and so glad you enjoyed the breakfast, sorry there wasn't more time for us all to chat. We will e-mail the jam recipe; it goes all over the world (like the granite from your area did) - if you make it let us know how you get on as this year's soft fruit has been plentiful but with a low sugar content! We made some with no problems, but we think the secret is making sure all the added sugar is dissolved.
Hope the motor racing at Knockhill went well - it looked like it was going to be a good meeting.
We do hope we can get down to your part of Scotland soon and explore as it's not an area we know well.
Kind regards,
Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownwood, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

WOW! What a treat to get to stay in one of the best B&B's ever. Coming from Texas and enjoying this beautiful country and friendly people. Bob and Helen take great pride in making sure their guests are comfortable and well fed even if they are staying for only one night or several. After a most delicious breakfast you won't be hungry again until dinner. The homemade bread, homemade jams, tons of fresh fruit, and eggs, bacon and sausage were wonderful. The beautiful dining room and relaxing music were exquisite bonuses. Bob and Helen are very informative about Scotland and were gracious enough to give us lots of tips on where to go and what to see. You will love the peaceful farm setting with gardens and animals everywhere. If we are ever in Scotland again this will be a "must" place to stay. Will definitely recommend to our American friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobmaria6594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi Bob & Maria,
We're really glad that you enjoyed your visit to Scotland, and found the suggestions we made useful for visiting Edinburgh and the Tattoo.
We hope that you can come back sometime and we can talk some more about the land and good food!
With thanks for the review, and kind regards from us all.
Helen, Bob and Bertie dog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalqueich
0.0 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
754 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
0.0 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burnbank Kinross
Burnbank Kinross
#1 of 10 in Kinross
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelson Lodge
Kelson Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kinross
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalqueich Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalqueich Farmhouse

Property: Dalqueich Farmhouse
Address: Bridge House Dalqueich Dalqueich FARM | Kinross, Dalqueich, Kinross KY13 0RG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross > Dalqueich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalqueich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalqueich Farmhouse is a restored traditional farmhouse in a lovely rural setting, yet convenient for motorway and airport. Accommodation is spacious and of a high quality. Guests have the use of a sitting room (where they can learn about Scotch whisky from an expert!) And the conservatory (winter garden) and eat in the elegant dining room (home-made bread and prize winning marmalades feature). Two rooms are available, an en-suite family room with a double and a single bed and a double room with king size bed and adjoining private shower-room. Set in spacious gardens it is a wildlife paradise with red squirrels, and kingfishers amongst its visitors. Wild deer are commonly seen as are a wide range of birds - both native and migrating. Walking, cycling, and golf can all be enjoyed locally and the Loch Leven Heritage trail has become immensely popular. A great place for touring, with Edinburgh, Perth, Stirling and Glasgow and the beautiful Fife coast and the Highlands all within easy reach (as well as malt distilleries!). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing