We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stop on our travels”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Babcary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Found the place after a very lengthy drive , having been directed down a narrow country lane. Thought we had got lost but arrived there eventually. The chap in the reception was not particularly welcoming; polite but off-handed. He asked us if we wanted an evening meal, to which we replied that we would. The room was very well presented and clean but there was no soap in the bathroom and only one towel. When arriving for our (pre-booked) evening meal, the staff were unaware of any booking and did little to put us at ease as they went away to see if they could fit us in. Eventually, after standing around for quite a time (and being regarded by the rest of the clientelle as though we were trying to sell lucky white heather!) we were shown to a small, out of the way table in a discrete corner. Again, after a lengthy wait, our order was taken. Again, a lengthy wait until the meal arrived. Not what we ordered. Apologies and another wait while the staff corrected their mistake. The food, when it arrived, was meagre and poorly cooked. I had a pasta dish which was somewhat overcooked and my wife's offering was virtually raw, even for partridge. This was pointed out but the waiting staff merely said "OH, I'll mention it to the chef" and nothing further was done. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty but again, meagre portions although, unlike the previous evening, the staff actually seemed to know what they were doing and were friendly and chatty. All in all, our memories of our visit are those of indifferent/incompetent staff and, food (when correctly supplied!) that was of poor quality/quantity. All this from an establishment that was appreciably more expensive than any other of this type that we stayed in during our travels along the south coast and around the West Country. The only other that came anywhere near to being of such poor quality was a Premier Inn (almost as expensive) but at least they had an "all you can eat" breakfast!
In summation, the Red Lion could be a worthwhile stop if they rid themselves of their delusions of grandeur, trained their reception and restaurant staff, provided proper portions in the restaurant and charged a realistic sum for the service they provide. Would not recommend at all.

Room Tip: Choose an alternative accommodation provider.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Steve C,

Sorry it has taken so long to respond. I am sorry to hear about your visit, and that our staff came across so off hand. I'm sure it was nothing personal.

I am also sorry you were made to feel awkward when you arrived for your meal in the evening, again I'm sure this was unintentional, we do not go out of our way to make our customers feel unwelcome, and we also sit people where we have tables available, and do not tuck them away in discrete corners ?
In reference to your food, I did check with the staff on duty that evening, and they were under the impression that when asked if everything was ok, you never mentioned overcooked, or raw ?

I would also like to defend ourselves and say we do not have 'delusions of grander' as you put it, we are a small independently owned rural pub ( hence your lengthy drive down a country lane) , trying our best to offer a good service, a restful night sleep, and a tasty meal, and not a Premiere Inn !

I'm sorry you felt you had to write such a long bad review on this site , and that if everything was as bad as you say, that you didn't ask to speak to us the owners when you were there , when we could have done something about it ? We are very approachable, and could possibly something about you list of grievances.

I'm sorry we won't be seeing you again, but unfortunately we can't be right for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

My new wife and I were looking for a nice place for lunch to break up a journey. We rang ahead to a couple of other pubs just before 2pm to be told they had stopped serving. The Red Lion on the other hand said they would make sure the chef kept the kitchen open for us. We had a lovely meal of steak for me and a Ploughman's for my wife. The service was attentive and cheerful and despite our late arrival we were spoilt and not at all hurried. I couldn't recommend a visit enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TinselRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Tinsel IRN,

Thank you for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your lunch with us, and that the staff looked after you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We found this lovely country pub via a Secret Escapes offer and stayed here on the way to our holiday in Devon, it is a very rural spot, we would never have just found it by chance!
We had a large room in a new building adjacent to the original old pub, it was well appointed with quality fittings and linens etc, the tea tray had fresh milk in a flask and homemade biscuits.
We were pleased to see how busy the pub was on a Sunday evening which led us to hope we were going to have a good meal - we did, delicious Belly pork, Lamb Shank, quality bread and wonderful homemade icecream with very intense flavours.
Our Breakfast was all locally sourced including homemade jam.
The staff were all helpful and friendly, we would return as as detour again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear nwspm,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip down to the West Country.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Room very nice and clean on arrival, no soap in bathroom for wash basin. Problem with the people up stairs as they had a route march round their room every morning starting at 6.30am!!!
First meal on the Friday was great except for the warm white wine. We had friends join us on Saturday we had to wait 40mins for starter. Overall meal was excellent.
On Monday we returned and found our room had not been serviced. The girl at the bar brought us fresh towels and crockery, milk etc.,
On leaving when settling the bill, someone else's meal had been added to our account.
Not sure we will come back, no real apology. Would have liked a discount of sorts, a round of drinks on Saturday, money off the bill, anything that would have softened the blow of our
experience. Thought the nightly rate was a bit high

Room Tip: Not all rooms have purpose showers. Eg Room 2 has a bath and hand held shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Phyllis D,

I was sorry to read your two reviews on the Pub, as I know you spoke to my husband on the morning of your departure, and maybe at the time did not make him aware of how many problems you had, had.
After reading your in house review comments left in your room, I was surprised to hear so many negatives? after all your positive feedback ?

We do try rectify problems people might have there and then, but unless we are made aware, we cannot offer compensation.
We are sorry you felt you needed to air your complaints online, but that is your prerogative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stopped off here on the way back to Surrey from Devon. We spotted their sigh on the A303 and decided to check it out. We liked the look of the pub from the outside and were warmly welcomed by the barman. We did intend to just have a drink and a bag of crisps but it was suggested that we might like to try the homemade scotch eggs. They looked good and tasted good too. The barman commented that 'they were trying to be a bit better than the Little Chef' and they definitely are. We will certainly visit again, either to stay or just for refreshements. It is a bit off the beaten track but worth the 3 mile detour.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Anne P,
Thank you for your kind review. So glad you enjoyed your visit to The Red Lion, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

what a first good inpression when walking into the red lion accommodation
very up to date interior good security and very clean, four rooms on the ground
floor and two family rooms on first floor that was the problem you could here
every step the guests made pity thousends of pounds have been spent but the
designer forgot the sound proofing between floors.
we had evening meal in the bar the service here came below par the problem
was we were served by different people on the first occasion we had to leave
the table to ask for salt and pepper when the pudding was deliverd after a wait
we left the table to ask for knife and spoon, on leaving after breakfast we were
over charged for drinks and food we didnt have this was rectified before leaving
still leaves sour taste in your mouth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dera Snowsmoke,

Sorry not to have responded to your review earlier. I'm so sorry to hear of you all the problems you had on your stay at The Red Lion. We do have sound proofing, but obviously not enough. We will of course look in to this after your review. Re your service in the pub, and being over charged on the morning of your departure, there is no excuse, and I can only apologise, but be assured I will speak to the members of staff so this hopefully will not happen again in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great night in the Red Lion inn last night with friends. Fab food, wonderful service over and above what was expected, great atmosphere (pizza den, bar, restaurant and beer garden was all buzzing). One of my favourite pubs by far in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyO86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare G, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Kelly086,

Thank you for your lovely review. So lovely to hear we are getting it right. Look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Main Street, Babcary TA11 7ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Babcary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Babcary
Price Range: $142 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn, Babcary - a beautiful thatched country pub in the heart of this unspoilt Somerset village.Pubs have always been at the heart of the local community and The Red Lion is no exception. As well as six en-suite rooms, a flagstoned bar and award winning restaurant, we also have a function room that overlooks a pretty courtyard garden and provides an ideal venue for weddings and parties. We offer a range of catering options and have our own marquee.Our team are handpicked for their personality, professionalism and ability to provide first class customer care. Wherever possible, we use local suppliers so that we can offer our customers fresh, locally sourced produce. Our role in the community is important to us and we take every opportunity to reduce our impact on the environment and our neighbourhood.Conveniently situated five minutes off the A303 and A37 The Red Lion is a perfect stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing