We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
25
26
8
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
26
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews port aux basques toast ferry crossing room was spacious hearty breakfast transcanada highway would definitely stay here again next morning short drive wonderful hosts gerald river newfoundland
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 59 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2017

Marie and her husband were wonderful hosts. I was lucky to have found this Inn in Doyle's, as I had not made previous reservations. The Inn is clean, spacious, and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was to order for each guest, and was delicious. Would definitely return and recommend to all.

Room Tip: Not sure about other rooms, but views were lovely, and whole area quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragonfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017

We were running late on a tour of the schools on the peninsula. Marie realized we weren't going to make it to a restaurant in time and phoned our tour leader. She told us she would make us a ham dinner , which was ready when we got there. We had the pleasure of enjoying her company during this delicious feast. ( This type of service is way over and above anything I expected. ) We had clean, beautifully appropriated rooms. Marie's husband , Gerald, cooked us a fabulous hearty breakfast the next morning. Once again , we met a kind and generous soul. Marie and Gerald, with more people like you in the world, Newfoundland is in good hands regarding the B&B industry. Thank you both so much for your kindness.
Hugh Scott

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank _hughnkathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geraldparsons, Owner at MacLellan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Thank you Hugh for your kind words. It was our pleasure to meet & be of service to yourself, Eric, Lori & Chantel. You were a wonderful group & hopefully we'll meet again.
All the best in passing on your traditional musical talents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

My wife and I stayed here on our way to Gros Morne Park/Rocky Harbour and it was a JOY, clean, fresh rooms and a hearty breakfast, as good as the wonderful scenery. We intended to stay here again on our way back to the P aux Basques ferry, but were hit with hurricane force winds (159kph) and torrential rains, so we pressed on to catch the ferry.

Room Tip: Our room, "Day Lily" I think, was immaculately clean, fresh with a very comfortable bed. I would recommend The Inn.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fechanbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016

This B & B has lovely airy and spacious rooms decorated with quilts on the comfortable beds. We enjoyed a lovely view of the garden and river from our room on the second floor at the back of the house. Everything was clean and fresh appearing. We were a bit disappointed with the breakfast as it was very simple with eggs. It did not compare to many of the B&B's we stayed in where fruit, coffee cakes or muffins, toast and homemade jams were served in addition to a main dish.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house on the second floor have lovely views over the garden and the river beyond.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jmacewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

We stayed there one night on our way from the ferry to Gros Morne and found it a relaxing, convenient stop over. It is less than 30 minutes from the ferry terminal, so you don’t need to worry if the ferry is late. The inn is in a lovely location by a river. We were in the Orchid Room, which is one of two rooms on the second floor with views of the river and garden/picnic area (the other being Pitcher Plant). I would recommend trying to book one of these two rooms. The room was spacious, with a comfortable queen bed and some chairs and table, a TV and coffeemaker. It was clean, bright and had modern windows, a modern fiber floor and a functional ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was early (7h00 to 8h30), as they cater to people catching the ferry. It was good for us to hear stories and get tips from people who were on their way out of Newfoundland.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Micheline26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews