We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improbably excellent in every way.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Valentine
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Improbably excellent in every way.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

One does not usually think of the word "excellent!" in conjunction with the word "EconoLodge."

But this hotel was great. And it is a bargain at a 8000 point Choice Hotels reward redemption. Those 8000 points got us a very nice two-bedroom suite. Heat worked great even though bitterly cold outside. Very comfortable beds. Only minor issues were the lack of convenient electrical outlets and the painful showerhead (the water pressure so high and the showerhead set on "needles")

Breakfast was excellent. Clearly homemade gravy.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

A gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
18
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Valentine, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Used to be an old drive up. Now has new 2nd level and suites wing. Less than 120 bucks even during Sturgis. Booking them September 2013 for our wedding block. Good location. Breakfast and wifi. Outdoor area is like a small park. Within walking distance of Peppermill Restaurant and downtown shops.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Traveling with a very large group of car enthusiasts, The Dunes and the City of Valentine welcomed us with open arms. This is a perfect place for a group of friends. Parking is plentiful, rooms are clean and well appointed, and breakfast is good. Couldn't ak for more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontiacnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Friendly greeting upon arrival and clean rooms even though the rooms are on the small side.
We were with a group of people, perfect place to enjoy our friends. The staff there was outstanding. I hope to stay there again sometime. Out of all our travels, this hotel stands out in my mind when I think about our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stopped here on our way to South Dakota. We were SO tired from driving all night and were looking for a clean and comfortable place to stay for the night--it's EXACTLY what we got here! We will definitely stay here again if we are back in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsE514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra NE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

When I made the reservation, the staff I visited with were very friendly and knowledgeable. When I arrived the lady at the front desk greeted me by name. (The company I work for's name is on the door of my truck) which made me feel at home right away. The room was spacious and clean, the motel was very busy as there was a convention in town, even with that there was plenty of parking. The continental breakfast was good, even though it was very busy, the lady's were refilling food and drink items as they needed. The only thing I could fault them on was the vending area was a ways from my room, however with a fridge and microwave in my room I didn't need vending machines anyway! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafterJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, Nd
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a newly remodeled room. It was very spacious & nice. The beds were some of the best I have ever slept on in a hotel. There was a green area with a swing set that my children took full advantage of. Very nice location & great parking lot. The internet was very speedyand the breakfast in the morning was fabulous. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: One of the best night's sleep I have had in a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merideth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valentine hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Valentine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Niobrara Lodge
The Niobrara Lodge
#5 of 7 in Valentine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trade Winds Motel
Trade Winds Motel
#1 of 7 in Valentine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Valentine NE
Super 8 Valentine NE
#6 of 7 in Valentine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel Raine
Motel Raine
#2 of 7 in Valentine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 340 E Highway 20, Valentine, NE 69201-2142 (Formerly Dunes Lodge and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Valentine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Valentine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE THE SANDHILLS as it should be. Relax in the natural beauty of a rustic and comfortable environment that reminds you of simpler times. Enjoy the scent of cedar, the warmth of suite fireplaces and jacuzzi spas. Refresh and unwind in a natural setting with all the modern amenities. AFFORDABLE EXCELLENCE in each of the 72 rooms complete with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, cable TV with HBO, hairdryer, ironing unit and free high speed internet, with SUPERB LOCATION. Whether you are planning an excursion down the scenic Niobrara River, fishing at the Wildlife Refuge or Merritt Dam Reservoir, sightseeing at one of the area's waterfalls or other attractions, or just passing through, the DUNES LODGE and SUITES is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing