We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steinauer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Convent House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Steinauer B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I don't know where to start! I am so glad I was told about this place, it is like being at home, I can cook my own meals, the ladies that run this place are WONDERFUL! I stay here whenever I am working in the area and it so beats a motel room! Love it!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jehanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

This quaint B&B is just what the doctor ordered for a restful night in the Heartland! The beds are very comfortable and the decor is charming. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the house and even more impressed with the multi-course breakfast that was served. The owners were very careful to provide for our every need. One of our party was having a birthday and they even had a small gift ready with a special cake and candle for birthday wishes! We had a wonderful visit and would go back any time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We took a family motorcycle trip consisting of 5 couples. This was the perfect place to stay! It is beautifully decorated, very clean, very cozy and relaxing. We each had our own room with a small walkin closet to keep your bags and clothes in. The food was absolutely fantastic! We had arranged to have an evening meal when we got there Friday night. It was delicious and alot of it. Breakfast was the same way. Terrific food and alot of it. No reason to go away hungry from this place. Hats off to Linda, Marilyn and Margorie! They are all so friendly and do whatever they can to make your stay the best. They are very gracious hostessess with alot of knowledge of the Convent House, as well as they area. It was great to get to know them. They also let us use anything in the house that we needed from the kitchen to the grill. They have a beautiful courtyard and patio. It was so relaxing to sit out there in the mornings for coffee and in the evenings to just wind down. We enjoyed grilling Saturday night and eating outside. Great place to stay! Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The ladies that run the bed and breakfast are so very friendly and accommodating. They greeted us in the parking lot before we had even gotten off of our motorcycles to welcome us. They graciously gave us a tour of the convent and shared some of the history of the bed and breakfast with us (very interesting) and let us settle in a bit before they served us a prearranged evening meal. Their hospitality was divine and the meal was that of a five star restaurant as was their breakfasts. These gals have been doing this for 20 years and have donated all of their time. They definitely know what they are doing and how to treat their guests. The town may be small and in the middle of farm land, but it is certainly a place everyone should visit. Just wonderful!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherieConley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Truly amazing experience. This used to be a functioning convent, built in the 1930's, so the craftsmanship inside the building is really nice, hardwood floors and beautiful trim and decor.

If you are fortunate enough to book when no one else is booked, you have the whole place to yourself, as the volunteers who run it, live off-site.

Our hostess, Margorie, was wonderful. Breakfasts were enormous and the variety of food was unbelievable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtkatec66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

i'll admit before i arrived i was very skeptical .. in this area there really isnt much to choose from other than a few old motels .. my entire family was staying at the motels but i just could not bring myself to do it .. i opted instead for the convent .. how glad i was .. from the moment i arrived until the moment i left i was in love with everything .. the sheets were so nice a crisp and central air on a very hot weekend .. next year i have convinced my family we will be renting out the entire house for the weekend without doubt .. rooms are amazingly clean .. breakfast is a full breakfast with bacon, eggs, fruit, cereal, coffee, tea, juice, you get the picture .. a wonderful stay ..

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMHtraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 30, 2001

All the quaint charm of a small farming town, combined with
friendly comfort, and beautiful decorating. Perfect for a family gathering
or a quiet get away. Convent House staff work hard to ensure your enjoyment
while preserving your privacy.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Convent House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 311 Hickory St, Steinauer, NE 68441-5009
Location: United States > Nebraska > Steinauer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Steinauer
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing