We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Resort To This So-Called Resort!!!”
Review of Laguna Mar Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matelot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laguna Mar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matelot
Reviewed January 29, 2009

There is nothing remotely "resort-ish" about Laguna Mar. This is a third-rate guest house with a lot of shrubbery along dirty, slippery walkways. No one bothers to air the rooms for occupancy. The bed linens are thin and worn and so are the bath towels. Cracked wash basins and dripping shower heads do not spell resort to me either. The only means to some fresh air - the fan - was also broken and not even oscillating! Apart from all the above, there are so many mosquitoes in the rooms, one would think they are collecting blood for a blood bank. And, if your room is situated on the lower level, keep your door closed or else frogs will be your constant companions.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Rastafem24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2008

This resort is a gem! The owner, Mr. Zollna, has a great staff and provides interesting insight on everything from local culture to food and current events. It was a joy to sit and relax with him after five crazy days of Carnival in the city and he was always available to grab a beer and play Rummikube (spelling?). The beach isn't like Mexico, but swimming in the freshwater river adjacent to the beach was enjoyable. We loved the hike to the pools, which is easy, especially if you don't mind walking through the middle of the river. The food was amazing, and the staff was attentive. I would recommend this place to anyone heading to Trinidad for Carnival--take a break afterwards at the Laguna Mar (you will need it!).

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopher_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

The Laguna Mar Lodge is located in Blanchisseuse, Trinidad. The road from Port of Spain to Blanchisseuse is lovely; so is the Lodge. The rooms are basic, simple and clean. The rooms are a bit humid.
The owner, Mr Zollna, is a fantastic host. He cooked a delicious meal for us and shared interesting stories with us. We even saw a leatherback turtle on the beach.
I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LindaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

We've been living in Trinidad for 4 years and we finally decided to go and check Blanchisseuse, when we arrived to Coco's Hut Restaurant, Mr. Fred welcomed us and showed us the path to the beach, we enjoyed the beach and back to the restaurant we asked to see the rooms, we liked them so we decided to go later, so after two weeks we went back and spent two nights at Laguna Mar. The experience is great, it's a cozy place and Mr. Zollna makes the stay an experience, he has too many thing to share and his young spirit gives life to the place. The food is great and, as the menu states, one have to wait a little while since the meal is prepared for you once you order. The surrounding are great, the hike to the river is a must-do and the balcony in front of our room was great to enjoy the birds, the view and the rain. We hope you enjoy the place as we did.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OscarIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
17
Reviewed November 8, 2004

There is little resemblance to anything 'resort' like at Laguna Mar. The rate is reasonable for the rustic atmosphere and it is close to a wonderful hike (no need for a guide, just take the upper-track to the right of the path and watch your step to Three Pools!) and across the street and down the path from the beach. Our reception was not warm and the dinner was over-priced and under-whelming (skip the shrimp dish as the shrimp are of the 'popcorn' variety). The best part of this inn is the nearness to a beautiful beach: very little else is noteworthy. If you have a chance to explore some other inns in the area, I suggest doing that before settling with Laguna Mar.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Woodbury, MN
215
Reviewed July 13, 2004

Reaonsably priced, beautiful setting. Excellent food. Far from busy Port of Spain on the North coast of Trinidad on the beach. Very relaxing. The host was charming, and the room was spacious. I would definitely return.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matelot
22.0 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
191 reviews
20.3 mi away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
903 reviews
30.1 mi away
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
#8 of 21 in Port of Spain
63 reviews
40.1 mi away
Cara Suites
Cara Suites
#1 of 1 in Claxton Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Mar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Mar Lodge

Address: Mile Marker 65 | Paria Main Rd., Matelot, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Matelot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matelot
Price Range: $60 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Laguna Mar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Laguna Mar Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing