We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to the West”

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
165 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Welcome to the West”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We took two grandchildren on this hike and it was easy for them but a little more strenous for us. Great views from the trail. Be prepared with water and sun protection. It is amazing to find a hike like this out in the plains. I can see why the pioneers were attracted to this area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Micosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great views and a nice hike down”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The views from up on the bluff are spectacular on a clear day. We chose to ride up and hike down, since the admission included the shuttle to the top. The guide was very informative as were the interpretive guides at the wagons in the park. The walk down was not strenuous but there were several steep drop offs along the path. I would not advise an elderly or very young person to go down the trail alone. The visitors center restrooms were spotless, and they had a water bowl for dogs, which was a nice touch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bobkatran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
201 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great hike up the path to the bluff”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wonderful hike and view. Loved wondering up the pathway and through the cave to so many different vantage points overlooking Scottsbluff and Gering. Coming down was a bit scary being so high up without a railing. I would not recommend this path for young children. Drive your kids to the top and watch them carefully. You could easily fall from many points. Great hike!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimCarlKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for an afternoon, not huge”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you are planning to walk up or down the trail be sure to wear a hat and sunscreen. It's a switchback path so it's pretty exposed. Also be aware that it is a popular place for local runners so they may be on the path too. The top has a couple of short paths that lead to open parts of the summit with great views. You can see the North Platte River and, just off the parking lot, use the pay binoculars to see Chimney Rock over 20 miles away!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank XaniC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A river runs by it”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a concrete path that runs along the river from the YMCA past the zoo and the discovery center and dead ends approximately 2 miles from the YMCA. There are benches and picnic tables along the way to take a break if you like. People walk, run, stroll with the family dog (there's a doggie playground along the way), and ride bicycles while enjoying a day along the river. Motorized vehicles not permitted other than wheelchairs. Access from parking lots are at the YMCA and across Broadway (diagonally from Safeways) by the Boys Club building and the Panhandle Humane Society. You can also access the pathway from the grounds of the zoo;but, I am not sure of the mileage along the pathway. I would suggest looking at an interactive map off the internet if you want to park somewhere around the zoo. I like to walk and bike the pathway whenever I can. Fairly flat terrain (it follows the river after all) so any ability can hike the pathway. Wide enough for bikes and hikers to share the path. Nice views of the Scottsbluff Monument along the way, good photo ops.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monument Valley Pathway also viewed

 

Been to Monument Valley Pathway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing